Pens' Crosby wins Pearson Award

| Thursday, June 14, 2007

TORONTO - Sidney Crosby won the Lester B. Pearson Award as most valuable players according to the NHL's players association at the league's awards show, Thursday night. It is the first Pearson Award for Crosby, who earlier in the day was named a first-team All-Star.

Crosby was presented the award by Canadian Prime Minister Stephen Harper.

At 19, Crosby is the youngest Pearson Award winner in league history. He beat out Tampa center Vincent Lecavalier and Vancouver goaltender Roberto Luongo for the Pearson.

"To be recognized like this by the guys you play against each night is really an honor," said Crosby, who thanked teammates, coaches, his family and Penguins fans.

Crosby is also a finalist for the Hart Trophy, which is presented to the most valuable player to his team as voted on by the Professional Hockey Writers Association.

The last Penguins' player to win the Pearson Award was Jaromir Jagr in 2000. Jagr was also the last Penguin to win the Hart, doing so in 1999.

Other Penguins up for awards are centers Jordan Staal and Evgeni Malkin, who are finalist for the Calder Trophy presented to the most outstanding rookie, and Michel Therrien, who is a finalist for the Jack Adams Award that goes to the outstanding coach.

Subscribe today! Click here for our subscription offers.


Show commenting policy