Pens' Therrien fed up with diving accusations

| Sunday, April 27, 2008

Penguins coach Michel Therrien issued a response Saturday to perceived accusations by the New York Rangers that Penguins captain Sidney Crosby takes dives to influence referees.

"That's enough," Therrien said following the Penguins' practice yesterday at Mellon Arena.

Alleged flopping by Crosby became an issue again in the wake of his drawing an interference penalty on the Rangers' Martin Straka at 16:40 of the third period of Game 1 on Friday night.

The Penguins cashed in on the subsequent power play with 1:41 remaining in regulation for what turned out to be the game-winning goal in a 5-4 triumph.

Rangers coach Tom Renney declined to address the call directly after the game.

"Did you see it?" Renney said. "Draw your own conclusions."

Rangers forward Brendan Shanahan assessed the call as "weak" and said Crosby "embellished it."

Crosby's postgame take was that he tripped over Straka's "stick or his skate."

Renney had made a pre-series issue of his concerns about a "penchant for embellishing and contesting every call," without naming names.

Straka was assessed a misconduct at 20:00 of the third period Friday night for voicing his displeasure about the interference penalty.

Game 2 is set for 2 p.m. today at Mellon Arena.

"I'm disappointed," Therrien said. "We all know what Tom Renney is trying to do. He tried to do it before the series. He's tried to get the attention of the referees, complaining about the penalty at the end of the game.

"As far as I'm concerned, as far as we're all concerned, it's not even close."

Renney wondered what all the fuss was about when it was his turn at the podium yesterday.

"I don't recall ever saying that Sidney himself was an issue," Renney said. "What I do recall suggesting is that, before every series, you meet the supervisor of officiating and talk about the rules in general and I think, (Friday night), by my answers, I didn't suggest that anybody was outside the rules of the game.

"I left that for others to conclude."

Shanahan clarified his postgame comments yesterday.

"We certainly didn't come into the room after the game, throw down our equipment and say we got hosed by the refs, so I'm kind of surprised Therrien is making it a big issue," Shanahan said. "I'm actually really surprised, because we aren't (making it an issue).

"If he wants to bring the referees' attention to it, (that's) fine."

Therrien issued his "that's enough" edict in response to a question about the benefits of having Crosby and Evgeni Malkin playing at a high level at the same time.

"We know what (Renney's) trying to do, but I'm convinced the referees don't buy into those things, the league doesn't buy into those things," Therrien said. "Why don't we give credit to a guy who will play into traffic, who will get a shot• Sidney Crosby received a shot in the face in the first period by (the Rangers' Sean) Avery.

"Sometimes, (Crosby's) going to draw a penalty, sometimes there's not going to be any penalty. But he's going to keep going there, and eventually, he'll draw a penalty if he keeps going there.

"He knows. He's not going to go to the outside, that's not the way he is. He's not going to take the easy road. He's going to take the tough road to try to succeed. And on that play (in Game 1), if he didn't get hooked, we're probably going to go on a breakaway. And he drew a penalty.

"I'm kind of disappointed (Renney) complained about it. Enough is enough; that's enough."

Subscribe today! Click here for our subscription offers.


Show commenting policy