| AandE

Larger text Larger text Smaller text Smaller text | Order Photo Reprints

Literary Evening series at Carnegie Music Hall to feature Moss, Grafton

Tuesday, April 9, 2013, 9:00 p.m.

Pulitzer Prize-winning author Michael Moss will open the 2013-14 Ten Literary Evening series, which also will feature mystery writer Sue Grafton.

Moss, author of “Salt, Sugar, Fat: How the Food Giants Hooked Us,” will open the series Sept. 23 at Carnegie Music Hall in Oakland and will be followed Oct. 7 by Grafton, who writes the popular Alphabet Series mysteries.

Other featured authors are:

Humorist Ian Frazier, Oct. 21; biographer and historian David Nasaw, who's written about Joe Kenney and Andrew Carnegie, Nov. 4; Amy Tan, author of “The Joy Luck Club,” Nov. 25; and short story writer and essayist George Saunders, Dec. 9.

Also, Ayelet Waldman, author of essays as well as a mystery series, Jan. 27; New York Times White House correspondent Helene Cooper, Feb. 10; fiction writer and educator Colum McCann, March 10; and Guggenheim Fellowship-winning novelist Ann Patchett, author of “State of Wonder” and “Run,” April 7.

Subscriptions are on sale now and single tickets will be available June 3. Prices start at $15 or $10 for students. Details: 412-622-8866 or www.

— Bob Karlovits




Show commenting policy

Most-Read Books

  1. Baldacci’s ‘Escape’ brings fast, furious twists and turns
  2. ‘Gutenberg’s Apprentice’ tells how the printed Bible came to be
  3. Harmar native’s new book opens door to world for students
  4. Author to share tips for forging career at Saxonburg stop
  5. Dick Cavett memoir looks back on more than TV show
  6. In ‘The Peripheral,’ Gibson travels back to the future
  7. Author DeKok’s ‘Murder in the Stacks’ looks at Penn State student’s 1969 killing
  8. Author Shapiro’s graphic novel gives a nod to Pittsburgh hockey scene
Subscribe today! Click here for our subscription offers.