ShareThis Page

Remmereit to lead violinist Shaham, Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra

| Wednesday, Dec. 12, 2012, 8:53 p.m.
Gil Shaham
Pittsburgh Symphony
Gil Shaham Pittsburgh Symphony

Gil Shaham is an adventurous violinist with a big repertoire.

He's particularly proud of having played a role in commissioning a new piece for solo violin by American composer William Bolcom called Suite No. 2 and inspired by the sonatas and partitas of Johann Sebastian Bach — which he's playing in recital this season.

He's also playing 10 violin concerti by different composers this season, including one by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart with the Pittsburgh Symphony.

“Among violinists, I think, I'm not alone in saying there is no greater joy than playing Mozart. He wrote in way that feels so well on the violin, makes the violin sing,” he says. “I think that's amazing, and other musicians say the same thing about his writing for their instruments.”

Arild Remmereit will conduct the Pittsburgh Symphony Orchestra with Shaham as soloist at concerts Friday through Sunday at Heinz Hall, Downtown.

Remmereit is music director of the Rochester Philharmonic and made news at the end of last month when the board of the orchestra decided to terminate his contract in August 2013, midway through a four-year agreement. He reportedly had frequent conflicts with board chair Elizabeth F. Rice and chief executive officer Charles Owens. The conductor submitted a breach-of-contract letter to the board on Nov. 27; his contract was shortened the next day.

Remmereit, who has led several successful concerts with the Pittsburgh Symphony in recent years, will conduct three pieces at weekend concerts — the Pittsburgh premiere of George Walker's Sinfonia No. 4 (“Strands”), Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart's Violin Concerto No. 5 (“Turkish”) and Peter Ilyich Tchaikovsky's Symphony No. 1 (“Winter Dreams”).

Mozart wrote all five of his violin concerti in 1775, and Shaham says the Fifth shows amazing growth.

“It is not only longer in duration. It has the most incredible range of emotions and freedom within the form,” he says. “In the middle of the first movement, there is an Adagio aria, which redefines the whole (orchestral introduction) in terms of the melody the violin plays for the first time.”

He says the Turkish episode in the finale show “what an incredible dramatist he was. Anytime you go on stage to play Mozart, you know you have the best material for your audience.”

The program also features the local premiere of Sinfonia No. 4 (“Strands”) by Walker. It was co-commissioned by the New Jersey Symphony, which gave the premiere in Newark in March, and the Cincinnati Symphony, National Symphony in Washington, and Pittsburgh Symphony.

Walker, who won the 1996 Pulitzer Prize for music, says the nine-minute piece is “complex, intense and compact” and intertwines strands of unrelated melodic materials, two of which are initial phrases of spirituals.

The concert will conclude with the Tchaikovsky's Symphony No. 1, written in 1867 when he was 27. The first two movements were called “Reveries of a Winter Journey” and “Land of Desolation, Land of Mists,” but there are no program hints for the final two movements.

Mark Kanny is classical music critic for Trib Total Media. He can be reached at 412-320-7877 or

TribLIVE commenting policy

You are solely responsible for your comments and by using you agree to our Terms of Service.

We moderate comments. Our goal is to provide substantive commentary for a general readership. By screening submissions, we provide a space where readers can share intelligent and informed commentary that enhances the quality of our news and information.

While most comments will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive, moderating decisions are subjective. We will make them as carefully and consistently as we can. Because of the volume of reader comments, we cannot review individual moderation decisions with readers.

We value thoughtful comments representing a range of views that make their point quickly and politely. We make an effort to protect discussions from repeated comments either by the same reader or different readers

We follow the same standards for taste as the daily newspaper. A few things we won't tolerate: personal attacks, obscenity, vulgarity, profanity (including expletives and letters followed by dashes), commercial promotion, impersonations, incoherence, proselytizing and SHOUTING. Don't include URLs to Web sites.

We do not edit comments. They are either approved or deleted. We reserve the right to edit a comment that is quoted or excerpted in an article. In this case, we may fix spelling and punctuation.

We welcome strong opinions and criticism of our work, but we don't want comments to become bogged down with discussions of our policies and we will moderate accordingly.

We appreciate it when readers and people quoted in articles or blog posts point out errors of fact or emphasis and will investigate all assertions. But these suggestions should be sent via e-mail. To avoid distracting other readers, we won't publish comments that suggest a correction. Instead, corrections will be made in a blog post or in an article.