| AandE

Larger text Larger text Smaller text Smaller text | Order Photo Reprints

Mary Onettes make musical melancholy on 'Hit the Waves'

Friday, March 15, 2013, 8:57 p.m.

‘Hit the Waves'

The Mary Onettes (Labrador)


Swedish indie pop outfit the Mary Onettes have been going strong for more than a decade and opened some eyes on our shores with the 2009 release of sophomore full-length “Islands.” With a sound that relies heavily on ringing guitars and reverbed vocals, the fellas are back with third album “Hit the Waves.” There's a dreamy quality to the 10-track effort, which finds the Mary Onettes getting off to a stumbling start with “Intro” before finding their stride. Among the standouts here are “Evil Coast,” the title track, “Don't Forget (To Forget About Me),” “Can't Stop the Aching” and “How It All Ends.” There's an undercurrent of sadness throughout the 38-minute platter, but it's a record worth exploring.

Jeffrey Sisk is an editor for Trib Total Media. Reach him at 412-664-9161 ext. 1952, or

Subscribe today! Click here for our subscription offers.



Show commenting policy

Most-Read Music

  1. Turrentine tribute features fine play
  2. Musical multiplication works wonders in Manchester Craftsmen’s Guild shows
  3. Granati Brothers’ new album almost didn’t go anywhere
  4. Kanny: Honecks work classical magic
  5. When does anticipated Record Store Day drop in Pittsburgh? This weekend
  6. Chamber Music Pittsburgh announces season
  7. Josh Groban making September stop in Pittsburgh
  8. Performing for presidents or Pittsburghers, Franklin’s soul keeps shining
  9. Luke Bryan tickets on sale this Friday
  10. Steve Miller Band to be 1st show at Highmark Stadium
  11. Fans eat up Primus eye candy