ShareThis Page

Out & About: Westmoreland County Historical Society Spring Frolic

| Sunday, April 17, 2016, 9:00 p.m.
Kim Stepinsky | For the Tribune-Review
(from left), Lesley and Jason Hitchman, of Monroeville, pose for a photo at the life-size chess game, during the Westmoreland County Historical Society's 8th Annual Spring Frolic, held at the Westmoreland County Courthouse on Saturday evening, April 16, 2016.
Kim Stepinsky | For the Tribune-Review
(from left), Sheila Caramella, of Greensburg, Linda Austin, of Greensburg, and Virginia Hauser, of Greensburg, pose during the Westmoreland County Historical Society's 8th Annual Spring Frolic, held at the Westmoreland County Courthouse on Saturday evening, April 16, 2016.
Kim Stepinsky | For the Tribune-Review
(from right), Westmoreland County Historical Society Executive Director, Lisa Hays, joins event co-chairs, Ashley Toth and Jennifer Sopko, at the Westmoreland County Historical Society's 8th Annual Spring Frolic, held at the Westmoreland County Courthouse on Saturday evening, April 16, 2016.
Kim Stepinsky | For the Tribune-Review
(from left), Bill and Barb Hillis, of Greensburg, and Barbara Flock, of Hempfield Township, play Black Jack during the Westmoreland County Historical Society's 8th Annual Spring Frolic, held at the Westmoreland County Courthouse on Saturday evening, April 16, 2016.
Kim Stepinsky | For the Tribune-Review
(from left), Magdelyn Vale, Jill Briercheck and Jo Ellen Numerick, gather for a photo at the Westmoreland County Historical Society's 8th Annual Spring Frolic, held at the Westmoreland County Courthouse on Saturday evening, April 16, 2016.
Kim Stepinsky | For the Tribune-Review
Event bartenders, (from left), Terry Graft, Linda Brown, Lou DeRose and Chuck Anderson, pose for a photo at the Westmoreland County Historical Society's 8th Annual Spring Frolic, held at the Westmoreland County Courthouse on Saturday evening, April 16, 2016.
Kim Stepinsky | For the Tribune-Review
(from left), Nancy Anderson and Joan Stairs, mingle at the Westmoreland County Historical Society's 8th Annual Spring Frolic, held at the Westmoreland County Courthouse on Saturday evening, April 16, 2016.
Kim Stepinsky | For the Tribune-Review
(from left), Marian DeBone, of Greensburg, and Denny Kennedy, of Greensburg, play Black Jack during the Westmoreland County Historical Society's 8th Annual Spring Frolic, held at the Westmoreland County Courthouse on Saturday evening, April 16, 2016.
Kim Stepinsky | For the Tribune-Review
Steve Toth participates in the trivia game during the Westmoreland County Historical Society's 8th Annual Spring Frolic, held at the Westmoreland County Courthouse on Saturday evening, April 16, 2016.
Kim Stepinsky | For the Tribune-Review
(from left), Dick Flock, Jacque Hauser, Barbara Jones, and Joan DeRose, play the trivia game during the Westmoreland County Historical Society's 8th Annual Spring Frolic, held at the Westmoreland County Courthouse on Saturday evening, April 16, 2016.
Kim Stepinsky | For the Tribune-Review
(from left), Lesley and Jason Hitchman, of Monroeville, pose for a photo at the life-size checker board, during the Westmoreland County Historical Society's 8th Annual Spring Frolic, held at the Westmoreland County Courthouse on Saturday evening, April 16, 2016.

It was all fun and games April 16 at Westmoreland County Courthouse during Westmoreland County Historical Society's Spring Frolic.

The theme of the eighth annual benefit was “20th Century Games.” A presentation explored the history of game playing. Some iconic games, such as Monopoly and Sorry!, were on display.

The halls of the courthouse rang with laughter, as guests played checkers, life-size chess, Keystone State Trivia and blackjack.

The evening began with a buffet by Chef Mark Henry, owner of Chef Mark's Palate in Latrobe. Henry prepared “fun foods,” such as Wisconsin cheddar soup garnished with popcorn, lamb sliders, grilled watermelon with gorgonzola and prosciutto and mini twice-baked potatoes. There were s'mores and cake pops for dessert. Music was by DJ J. Malls.

Event co-chairwomen were AshleyToth andJennifer Sopko.

Seen: Historical society director Lisa Hays, Joanna Moyar, Richard and Barbara Flock, Tom andDonnis Headley, Robert Myers, Chuck and Nancy Anderson, Lou and Joan DeRose, Jim Clayton and Mary Catherine Motchar, Bob Kendra, Dr. George and Linda Austin, Phil andGladys Light, JoEllen Numerick, Jill Briercheck, Jess andJoan Stairs, Barry and MarianDeBone, Faye Rosatti, John Mickinack, Terry Graft, Art and Sheila Caramella and Barbara Jones.

Dawn Law is a Tribune-Review contributing writer.

TribLIVE commenting policy

You are solely responsible for your comments and by using TribLive.com you agree to our Terms of Service.

We moderate comments. Our goal is to provide substantive commentary for a general readership. By screening submissions, we provide a space where readers can share intelligent and informed commentary that enhances the quality of our news and information.

While most comments will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive, moderating decisions are subjective. We will make them as carefully and consistently as we can. Because of the volume of reader comments, we cannot review individual moderation decisions with readers.

We value thoughtful comments representing a range of views that make their point quickly and politely. We make an effort to protect discussions from repeated comments either by the same reader or different readers

We follow the same standards for taste as the daily newspaper. A few things we won't tolerate: personal attacks, obscenity, vulgarity, profanity (including expletives and letters followed by dashes), commercial promotion, impersonations, incoherence, proselytizing and SHOUTING. Don't include URLs to Web sites.

We do not edit comments. They are either approved or deleted. We reserve the right to edit a comment that is quoted or excerpted in an article. In this case, we may fix spelling and punctuation.

We welcome strong opinions and criticism of our work, but we don't want comments to become bogged down with discussions of our policies and we will moderate accordingly.

We appreciate it when readers and people quoted in articles or blog posts point out errors of fact or emphasis and will investigate all assertions. But these suggestions should be sent via e-mail. To avoid distracting other readers, we won't publish comments that suggest a correction. Instead, corrections will be made in a blog post or in an article.