ShareThis Page

Borough of Irwin celebrates 150th anniversary

| Sunday, Aug. 10, 2014, 9:00 p.m.
Rebecca Emanuele | TRIB TOTAL MEDIA
(left) Mayor Dan Rose, borough council members, Phylis Theim, Joanna Jordan, and borough manager, Mary Benko, gather during the Borough of Irwin 150th Anniversay Gala, held Friday evening, August 8, 2014, at Stratigos Banquet Center, Irwin, PA.
Rebecca Emanuele | TRIB TOTAL MEDIA
'A 1989 ticket for the Irwin Quasquicentennial Ball, held at the Lincoln Hills Country Club alongside ticket to the evening's event, the 150th Irwin Gala Anniversary. Numerous memorabilia was on display for guests.

A gala was held Aug. 8 in celebration of Irwin's 150th anniversary at Stratigo's Banquet Centre, off Route 30 in North Huntingdon.

Mayor Daniel Rose said Irwin's buildings exude charm and character, and it's the kind of place where merchants sweep the sidewalks in front of their stores. Families out for a stroll take the time to smile and say hello.

“It's a great place to be,” Rose said. “How could you not love Irwin?”

U.S. Rep. Tim Murphy gave the borough a proclamation and an American flag that had been flown over the Capitol. He presented Irwin Volunteer Fire Department with a check for $35,340.

Westmoreland County Commissioners Chuck Anderson, Tyler Courtney andTed Kopas talked about the past, when Irwin prospered from coal mining and railroads. And they were enthusiastic about its future, because of its proximity to thriving regional businesses.

Kopas remembered going to Irwin to play basketball, buy baseball cards and see movies at the Lamp Theatre. The Lamp closed in 2005, but after renovations, it is projected to reopen in December as the largest entertainment venue between Greensburg and Pittsburgh.

“We're celebrating what we are today,” Kopas said. “And what we're going to be.”

Welcoming comments from Robert Garritano and an invocation by the Rev. Clifton Suehr of Holy Trinity Lutheran Church were followed by dinner and dancing to swing-era music by the Wayne Macuga Band.

Gala committee members were Mary Benko, Sandy Daugherty, Peggie O'Neal, Betty Lou Sullivan and Gail Macioce. During the evening, Macioce was recognized with fellow Irwin council members Robert Wayman, Peggie Watson, Joanna Jordan, Deborah Kelly, Phylis Theim and John Cassandro.

Also at the gala: State Rep. George Dunbar, April Kopas, the Rev. James Reiter, Rick Reiter, Emily Angelcyk, John and Karen Glass, Mike Pochan and Jack and Janet Naughton.

— Dawn Law

TribLIVE commenting policy

You are solely responsible for your comments and by using you agree to our Terms of Service.

We moderate comments. Our goal is to provide substantive commentary for a general readership. By screening submissions, we provide a space where readers can share intelligent and informed commentary that enhances the quality of our news and information.

While most comments will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive, moderating decisions are subjective. We will make them as carefully and consistently as we can. Because of the volume of reader comments, we cannot review individual moderation decisions with readers.

We value thoughtful comments representing a range of views that make their point quickly and politely. We make an effort to protect discussions from repeated comments either by the same reader or different readers

We follow the same standards for taste as the daily newspaper. A few things we won't tolerate: personal attacks, obscenity, vulgarity, profanity (including expletives and letters followed by dashes), commercial promotion, impersonations, incoherence, proselytizing and SHOUTING. Don't include URLs to Web sites.

We do not edit comments. They are either approved or deleted. We reserve the right to edit a comment that is quoted or excerpted in an article. In this case, we may fix spelling and punctuation.

We welcome strong opinions and criticism of our work, but we don't want comments to become bogged down with discussions of our policies and we will moderate accordingly.

We appreciate it when readers and people quoted in articles or blog posts point out errors of fact or emphasis and will investigate all assertions. But these suggestions should be sent via e-mail. To avoid distracting other readers, we won't publish comments that suggest a correction. Instead, corrections will be made in a blog post or in an article.