TribLIVE

| Lifestyles


 
Larger text Larger text Smaller text Smaller text | Order Photo Reprints

Shows and festivals showcase spring blooms

By The Associated Press
Saturday, March 9, 2013, 9:00 p.m.
 

Snow is still in the forecast for some locales, but other places are getting ready for spring. And the season's beauty will be on display with festivals and flower shows around the country, from events showcasing cherry blossoms in Washington, D.C. and Brooklyn, N.Y., to celebrations of dogwoods, camellias and azaleas in the South, to apple blossom and tulip festivals in the Northwest.

Here are some of the best and biggest festivals and flower shows around the United States this spring, along with some notable botanical gardens where something is always in bloom.

EVENTS

Garden Conservancy's Open Days (more than 300 private gardens in 18 states open to public on select dates March-November, www.opendaysprogram.org

Celebrate Spring, through April 30, Callaway Gardens, Pine Mountain, Ga., www.callawaygardens.com

Philadelphia Flower Show, through March 10, Pennsylvania Convention Center, Philadelphia, www.philaflowershow.com

Dallas Blooms, through April 7, Dallas Arboretum, www.dallasarboretum.org

Epcot International Flower and Garden Festival, through May 19, Walt Disney World, Lake Buena Vista, Fla., disneyworld.disney.go.com

Chicago Flower & Garden Show, through March 17, Navy Pier, Chicago, www.chicagoflower.com

Boston Flower & Garden Show, March 13-17, Seaport World Trade Center, Boston, www.bostonflowershow.com

Wistaria Festival, March 17, Sierra Madre, Calif., www.sierramadrenews.net

San Francisco Flower & Garden Show, March 20-24, San Mateo Event Center, San Mateo, Calif., sfgardenshow.com

National Cherry Blossom Festival, March 20-April 14, Washington, D.C., www.national cherryblossomfestival.org

Festival of Flowers, March 21-24, Bellingrath Gardens, Theodore, Ala. (near Mobile), www.bellingrath.org

Biltmore Blooms Festival of Flowers, March 21-May 31, Biltmore Estate, Asheville, N.C., www.biltmore.com

Camellia Walks, through March 23, Middleton Place, Charleston, S.C., www.middletonplace.org

Hatsume Fair, March 23-24, Morikami Museum and Japanese Gardens, Delray Beach, Fla., www.morikami.org

Skagit Valley Tulip Festival, April 1-30, Mt. Vernon, Wash., www.tulipfestival.org/

Daffodil Days, April 6-28, Blithewold Mansion, Gardens & Arboretum, Bristol, R.I., www.blithewold.org

Atlanta Dogwood Festival, April 19-21, Piedmont Park, Atlanta, www.dogwood.org

Garden Club of Virginia's Historic Garden Week, tours at various sites, April 20-27, www.VAGardenweek.org

Washington State Apple Blossom Festival, April 25-May 5, Wenatchee, Wash., www.appleblossom.org/

Daffodil Festival, April 26-28, Nantucket, Mass., www.nantucketchamber.org

Shenandoah Apple Blossom Festival, April 26 -May 5, Winchester, Va., www.thebloom.com

Sakura Matsuri Festival, April 27-28, Brooklyn Botanic Garden, Brooklyn, N.Y., www.bbg.org

Pella Tulip Time, May 2-4, Pella, Iowa, www.pellatuliptime.com/tulip-time

Tulip Time Festival, Holland, Mich,, May 4-11, www.holland.org/visitors/tulip-time-festival

Lilac Festival, May 10-19, Rochester, N.Y., www.lilacfestival.com

PLACES

Bloedel Reserve, Bainbridge Island, Wash., www.bloedelreserve.org

Cleveland Botanical Garden, Cleveland, www.cbgarden.org

Desert Botanical Garden, Phoenix, www.dbg.org

Dumbarton Oaks Gardens, Washington D.C., www.doaks.org

Fairchild Tropical Botanic Garden, Coral Gables, Fla., www.fairchildgarden.org

Garden in the Woods, Framingham, Mass., www.newfs.org

Holden Arboretum, Kirtland, Ohio, www.holdenarb.org

International Rose Test Garden, Washington Park, Portland, Ore., washingtonparkpdx.org/attractions

Huntington Botanical Gardens, San Marino, Calif., www.huntington.org

Lan Su Chinese Garden, Portland, Ore., www.portlandchinesegarden.org

Longwood Gardens, Kennett Square, Pa., www.longwoodgardens.org

Magnolia Plantation & Gardens, Charleston, S.C., www.magnoliaplantation.com

Missouri Botanical Garden, St. Louis, Mo., www.mobot.org

New York Botanical Garden, Bronx, New York, www.nybg.org

San Francisco Botanical Garden, Golden Gate Park, San Francisco, www.sfbotanical garden.org

U.S. Botanic Garden Conservatory, Washington, D.C., www.usbg.gov

Wave Hill, Bronx, N.Y., www.wavehill.org

Winterthur Garden, Winterthur, Del., www.winterthur.org

 

 
 


Show commenting policy

Most-Read Travel

  1. Road Trip! Destination: Block Island, R.I.
Subscribe today! Click here for our subscription offers.