ShareThis Page

Auto racing notebook: Don Martin Memorial Silver Cup race to be televised

| Friday, Aug. 10, 2012, 12:38 a.m.

Things got back to normal last weekend with some good racing.

And in case you missed the World of Outlaws Don Martin Memorial Silver Cup race from July, this weekend is your chance to see it, provided you have the SPEED network. The Silver Cup will be televised from 1 to 3 p.m. Saturday will be broadcast again at 9 p.m. Saturday.

Last week's auction to benefit injured Sprint Car driver Brian Steinman raised $9,500. Anyone who took part in this effort is to be commended. That money, in addition to the more than $4,000 raised a few weeks ago, shows the dedication of the local racing community.

Knoxville Nationals

Tonight is Night 3 of the 52nd annual Knoxville Nationals at Knoxville Raceway in Iowa.

The pilgrimage to Knoxville is one of the most amazing events of the season, with car counts usually more than 100 for the four-day event.

Steve Kinser has won the Nationals 12 times. His last win came in 2002. Donny Schatz has dominated the event in recent years, winning five of the past six. Timmy Shaffer won in 2010.

Baker wins 1st of season at PPMS

Steve Baker, yes, that Steve Baker from Rocket Chassis has been struggling most of the season with an experimental Rocket.

He finally made the switch back to a more reliable — and updated — car and came away with a dominating win Saturday at Pittsburgh's Pennsylvania Motor Speedway.

Lynn Geisler, who won the night before at Lernerville, finished second after Baker took the lead at the start. John Flinner continues his limited running this season at PPMS, and he stormed through the field to finish third. Michael Norris was fourth, and Ben Miley was fifth.

Colton Flinner is heading toward another PPMS FASTRAK Late Model title, but it hasn't been easy. Flinner had trouble last week and had to borrow a car and drove to his first win of the season. Flinner drove Ron Hall's machine, a car that was severely damaged last week to a convincing win. Flinner led every lap of the feature that ran nonstop.

Kyle Lukon, last week's winner, finished second.

Other winners Saturday at PPMS included Alex Bright in the ARDC Midgets, Jake Simmons in Sportsmans, Gary Smith in Hobby-Factory Stocks and Logan Crewl in Compacts.

This week at PPMS, there's a regular show and the Wacky Wheels Figure 8s. The Red Miley Memorial is Aug. 18. That race will feature the 53-lap UFO Super Late Models and the 410 Sprints.

Double features at Sharon

Sharon Speedway fans were treated to a bonus Big-Block Modified feature due to a make-up from earlier this season.

The first was rescheduled from May 27 and was dominated by Dave Murdick, who the night before looked like he would run away with the feature at Lernerville before his engine developed a slight problem.

Murdick inherited the lead on Lap 3 when Tommy Mattocks lost his engine. Murdick then led the final 18 laps without a challenge, with a margin of victory of more than 6 seconds.

Shawn Fleeger had a great run and finished second in front of Jim Rasey. Jimmy Weller was fourth and Eric Gabany was fifth

Rex King Sr. led the second feature from start to finish for his third Sharon win of the season. King had to use Rex Jr.'s car because his car had engine problems in the heat race. Jeremiah Shingledecker finished second.

Other winners Saturday at Sharon included Eric Wilson in FASTRAK Late Models, Joe Gabrielson in E-Mods, Shaun Hooks in Stocks, Steve Burns in Econo Mods and Jim Haefke in Mini Stocks.

Miller dominates at Roaring Knob

Jeremy Miller dominated the Ernie Jones Memorial on Saturday.

He set the fastest time in qualifying, won his heat race, won the Dash and then led all 22 laps of the feature to take home a total of $2,644 for his effort.

Thomas Zuck is a freelance writer.

TribLIVE commenting policy

You are solely responsible for your comments and by using you agree to our Terms of Service.

We moderate comments. Our goal is to provide substantive commentary for a general readership. By screening submissions, we provide a space where readers can share intelligent and informed commentary that enhances the quality of our news and information.

While most comments will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive, moderating decisions are subjective. We will make them as carefully and consistently as we can. Because of the volume of reader comments, we cannot review individual moderation decisions with readers.

We value thoughtful comments representing a range of views that make their point quickly and politely. We make an effort to protect discussions from repeated comments either by the same reader or different readers

We follow the same standards for taste as the daily newspaper. A few things we won't tolerate: personal attacks, obscenity, vulgarity, profanity (including expletives and letters followed by dashes), commercial promotion, impersonations, incoherence, proselytizing and SHOUTING. Don't include URLs to Web sites.

We do not edit comments. They are either approved or deleted. We reserve the right to edit a comment that is quoted or excerpted in an article. In this case, we may fix spelling and punctuation.

We welcome strong opinions and criticism of our work, but we don't want comments to become bogged down with discussions of our policies and we will moderate accordingly.

We appreciate it when readers and people quoted in articles or blog posts point out errors of fact or emphasis and will investigate all assertions. But these suggestions should be sent via e-mail. To avoid distracting other readers, we won't publish comments that suggest a correction. Instead, corrections will be made in a blog post or in an article.