| Neighborhoods

Larger text Larger text Smaller text Smaller text | Order Photo Reprints

Incumbents win in school board, Aspinwall elections

Daily Photo Galleries

By Tom Mcgee and Tawnya Panizzi
Wednesday, Nov. 6, 2013, 11:30 a.m.

Fox Chapel Area School District

Incumbents Joel Weinstein and Chip Burke will retain their positions on the Fox Chapel Area School Board after beating newcomer Nancy Snider by about a 20 percent margin Tuesday night, according to unofficial results from the Allegheny County Department of Elections.

With 10 of 10 precincts counted, 17-year veteran Weinstein earned 1,091 votes; Burke, a two-term incumbent earned 1,058 votes; and Snider, a first-time candidate earned 869.

Incumbents Sherman Snyder and Robert Mauro were unopposed in races for Regions 1 and 2.

Snider, who retired from teaching after 40 years at Central Catholic, said she had hoped to win a school board seat to apply her education experience.

Both Burke and Weinstein said their goals are to maximize potential for all students.


Republicans Ann Marsico and Ann Pawlikowski will be new faces on Aspinwall Council next year.

With all three precincts reporting, Marsico and Pawlikowski received 395 and 364 votes, respectively.

Incumbents Joe Noro, a Republican, and Mark Ellermeyer, a Democrat, will retain their seats. Noro received 342 votes while Ellermeyer received 323.

Democrat Jay Arnone fell short in his bid for a council seat. He received 309 votes.

Indiana Township

Republican Michael Schurko won a seat representing Indiana Township's fifth district.

He defeated Democrat David Allison by earning 109 votes to Allison's 95.

Tom McGee is an associate editor for Trib Total Media. He can be reached at 412-856-7400, ext. 1513 or Tawnya Panizzi is a staff writer for Trib Total Media. She can be reached at 412-782-2121, ext. 2 or



Show commenting policy

Most-Read Stories

  1. Steelers use 3 late first-half TDs to stun Texans
  2. 12-year-old’s donated heart joins families, lets her memory live
  3. Kin of 2013 DUI crash victim in Hempfield lose young family in fire
  4. Connellsville native Stafford remembered for her generosity
  5. Rookie Bryant sparks deep passing game for Steelers in victory
  6. Rossi: Steelers’ season all about going big
  7. Pittsburgh police officers start wearing video cameras
  8. City Theatre offers sweet, supportive take on Shanley’s ‘Outside Mullingar’
  9. Pa. Congressional candidates hear about wide range of issues, concerns
  10. Pennsylvania overseers reject Pittsburgh Mayor Peduto’s 2015 budget
  11. Demand for hazmat suits due to Ebola outbreak triples firm’s production
Subscribe today! Click here for our subscription offers.