| Neighborhoods

Larger text Larger text Smaller text Smaller text | Order Photo Reprints

O'Hara tax rate stays put for 11th consecutive year

Daily Photo Galleries

Wednesday, Jan. 1, 2014, 9:00 p.m.

Residents of O'Hara will have the same property tax rate in 2014 as they did in the past 11 years.

Council approved the township's $17 million budget, which holds the tax rate at 1.725 mills.

The owner of a home assessed at $100,000 will pay $172.50 in property taxes.

Township Manager Julie Jakubec said highlights of the budget include a $1 million pledge to the new community center to be built along Powers Run Road that will serve residents of the Fox Chapel Area School District.

The donation comes from the township's $2 million parks budget.

Other park projects approved for next year include $10,000 for plumbing at Squaw Valley and $65,000 over the next five years for court sealing at Meadow, Squaw, Woodland, Sacco and Schafer. Extra money is in the fund to buy property that might become available, Council President Bob Smith said.

A second high-priced project is expected to be a sewer line upgrade for township residents who still rely on septic systems. Construction will cost about $3.5 million, and permits are being sought, Jakubec said.

Council slated $725,000 for road work and $375,000 for a new engine for the Parkview Volunteer Fire Department.

Members set aside $100,000 this year and plan to spend $200,000 next year for a project to replace a pump station in the Crofton neighborhood.

A new system for heating, ventilation and air conditioning will be installed at the municipal building at a cost of $200,000 and four new vehicles will be purchased, two each for the police and public works departments. The total vehicle cost is about $175,000.

In other business:

Council appointed residents to the following township committees:

• Four-year term on the civil service commission — David Schaffner Jr., Judy Bossart, Rabbi Ely Rosenfeld and Richard Rosner.

• Five-year term on the Fox Chapel Authority — Eric Nolder.

• Five-year term on the parks and recreation commission — Michael Veltri and Mary Lee Mahon.

• Four-year term on the planning commission — Ronald Flucker.

• Three-year term on the uniform construction code board — Don Lightner.

• Three-year term on the zoning hearing board — Richard C. Lockwood.

Tawnya Panizzi is a staff writer for Trib Total Media. She can be reached at 412-782-2121, ext. 2 or at

Subscribe today! Click here for our subscription offers.




Show commenting policy

Most-Read Stories

  1. Steelers not limiting themselves in free agency
  2. Duquesne University football player died by suicide
  3. Pirates notebook: Sadler gets first Grapefruit start
  4. Winter storm causes flight cancellations
  5. Icy roads cause multiple vehicle accidents Sunday evening
  6. Rossi: Pirates must pay for Mr. Right
  7. Pitt women end regular season with win over Clemson
  8. National Weather Service predicts up to 7 inches of snow before Sunday night
  9. Arrogant media elites mock Middle America
  10. Vehicle windows broken in Brighton Heights and Spring Garden
  11. Coyotes proliferate despite year-round hunting