ShareThis Page

Valley townships, Bolivar reorganize

| Wednesday, Jan. 9, 2013, 9:00 p.m.

Ligonier Valley townships reorganized Monday, as required by state law.

Ligonier Township

In Ligonier Township, Supervisor Keith Whipkey was appointed as chairman and secretary/treasurer, and Supervisor Tim Komar was appointed as vice chairman. Komar will be the sole road master for the township with the retiring of former Supervisor and Road Master Carl Penrod.

At the suggestion of Zoning Officer Cindy Angelo, supervisors voted to increase the fee for public hearings before the supervisors from $275 to $300. The fee for Zoning Hearing Board public hearings remains at $350.

“The township is still taking a loss on the public hearings, but at least it won't be so bad,” Angelo said.

Supervisors also voted to switch engineering firms to Ligonier-based The Markosky Engineering Group, Inc.

Attorney Judith Ciszek was retained as the township's solicitor.

Angelo will continue to serve as the township's zoning officer and Mike D'Arrigo was retained as the sewage enforcement officer.

Board appointees included Bruce Kemerer to the Ligonier Township Municipal Authority, Mark Spitzer to the planning commission and Larry Shew to the recreation board. All positions were for five-year terms.

In addition, Planning Commissioner Linda McDowell was retained for another three-year term.

Monthly meetings will continue to be held at 7 p.m. on the second Tuesday of each month at the Ligonier Township Municipal Building, located at 1 Municipal Park Drive.

Cook Township

Cook Township had no changes from last year. Rich Umbaugh was once again appointed as chairman for the board and remains the sole road master.

Walter Piper will serve as vice chairman and Mark McKlveen will serve as board secretary/treasurer.

Attorney Doug Welty was retained as the township's solicitor and Doug Regola will continue to serve as the sewage enforcement officer.

Supervisors made no changes to the township's fee schedule, according to township secretary Debbie Rhodes.

Monthly meetings remain at 7:30 p.m. on the first Wednesday of each month at the Cook Township Municipal Building, located at 1716 State Route 711.

Fairfield Township

Supervisors in Fairfield Township appointed Vaughn Tantlinger as chairman, James Brown as vice chairman and township employee Emma Brendlinger will continue to serve as secretary/treasurer.

Attorney Jeff Miller was retained as solicitor and Mike D'Arrigo will remain the township's sewage enforcement officer.

Supervisors voted for no change in fees.

Monthly meetings will remain at 7 p.m. on the second Thursday of the month, except for July and November which will be on the Wednesday before the second Thursday, at the township municipal office, located at 159 Midget Camp Road.

St. Clair Township

In St. Clair Township, Supervisor Jim Caldwell was appointed as chairman and head road master. Supervisor Fred Clark will serve as vice chairman. Supervisor Richard Hill Sr. remains the police administrator.

Attorney Judith Ciszek was also retained as Cook Township's solicitor, and Mike D'Arrigo will continue to serve as the sewage enforcement officer.

Officials added a $150 fee for subdivision application. All but $25 of that fee will be returned to the landowner after official plans are received by the township, according to Supervisor Jim Caldwell. No other changes were made to the township's fee schedule.

Kristina Clark remains the township and board secretary.

Monthly meetings remain at 7 p.m. on the second Wednesday of each month at the township's municipal building, located at 550 Seward St.

Bolivar Borough

Despite the state requirement that stipulates that boroughs only have to reorganize on years ending with an even number, Bolivar officials decided to reorganize Monday as well.

Officials made no changes from the year prior.

Councilman Clark Baird will continue to serve as council president. Sue Bartow was appointed vice president. Borough employees Patricia Betts and Kelly Lupacchini will remain the borough's treasurer and secretary, respectively.

Attorney Jeffrey Miller was retained as the borough's solicitor.

There was no change in fees, and meetings will continue to be held at 7 p.m. on the first Thursday of each month at the borough building, located at 622 Washington St.

TribLIVE commenting policy

You are solely responsible for your comments and by using you agree to our Terms of Service.

We moderate comments. Our goal is to provide substantive commentary for a general readership. By screening submissions, we provide a space where readers can share intelligent and informed commentary that enhances the quality of our news and information.

While most comments will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive, moderating decisions are subjective. We will make them as carefully and consistently as we can. Because of the volume of reader comments, we cannot review individual moderation decisions with readers.

We value thoughtful comments representing a range of views that make their point quickly and politely. We make an effort to protect discussions from repeated comments either by the same reader or different readers

We follow the same standards for taste as the daily newspaper. A few things we won't tolerate: personal attacks, obscenity, vulgarity, profanity (including expletives and letters followed by dashes), commercial promotion, impersonations, incoherence, proselytizing and SHOUTING. Don't include URLs to Web sites.

We do not edit comments. They are either approved or deleted. We reserve the right to edit a comment that is quoted or excerpted in an article. In this case, we may fix spelling and punctuation.

We welcome strong opinions and criticism of our work, but we don't want comments to become bogged down with discussions of our policies and we will moderate accordingly.

We appreciate it when readers and people quoted in articles or blog posts point out errors of fact or emphasis and will investigate all assertions. But these suggestions should be sent via e-mail. To avoid distracting other readers, we won't publish comments that suggest a correction. Instead, corrections will be made in a blog post or in an article.