| Neighborhoods

Larger text Larger text Smaller text Smaller text | Order Photo Reprints

Ligonier-area voters head to polls Tuesday

Email Newsletters

Sign up for one of our email newsletters.

Where to vote

By Jewels Phraner
Wednesday, May 15, 2013, 9:00 p.m.

In Tuesday's primary election candidates are vying for nominations from both major parties to be placed on the ballot in the general election in November.

Bolivar Borough

Sue Bartow, Adrien Cameron, Amy McClellan, Dan Short Jr. and Arthur Sisitki are seeking three nominations on the Democratic ballot for council. The seats carry a four-year term. Bartow has also filed on the Democratic ticket for one seat with a two-year term.

No Republicans have filed for the council seats.

Republican Tom Pickup is the sole candidate seeking nomination for a four-year term for mayor.

Carol Sisitki is the lone candidate for judge of election on the Democratic ballot.

Democrat Darlene L. Gregorich and Republican Connie L. Bowers are unopposed for party nominations for inspector, which has a four-year term.

Cook Township

Theodore R. Black, Chuck Plahs and Josh Umbaugh are seeking the Republican nomination for one open seat as supervisor. No Democrat is seeking the six-year position.

April S. Grimm and Alice J. Piper are running unopposed for the Republican nomination to tax collector and judge of election, respectively. Both positions carry four-year terms.

Fairfield Township

Republican James Brown is the sole candidate for a six-year supervisor's post. No Democrats have filed.

Laura Henderson seeks the Republican nomination for the four-year tax collector position.

Democrat Robin Gibson and Republicans Cleo Langham and Mary L. Hamill are the sole candidates seeking nominations to the four-year judge of election seats for the districts of Fairfield, North Fairfield and South Fairfield, respectively.

In South Fairfield, Patricia A. West is unopposed for the Democratic nomination for inspector, with a four-year term.

Laurel Mountain Borough

Phil Light is seeking the Republican nomination for mayor. No Democrats have filed.

Republican Joseph S. Griffith Jr. and Democrat Mark Lynch seek their party's nominations to the general election ballot for council. There's a total of three open council seats, each carrying a four-year term.

Republican Geraldine Fleming and Democrat Benjamin R. Dallmus are the sole candidates seeking nominations to tax collector and judge of election, respectively. Both positions hold four-year terms.

Ligonier Borough

Ormond “Butch” K. Bellas is the only candidate running for mayor as he seeks the Republican nomination to the four-year seat.

Republicans Kim I. Shaffer and Matthew S. Smith, as well as Democrat Pat Scanlon are each seeking nominations to one of four open council seats, with four-year terms. Because fewer people are running than open seats, all the candidates' names should appear on the general election ballot.

Robin A. Roberts is the lone candidate for the Republican nomination for a four-year term as tax collector. No Democrats are seeking that nomination.

Republican Angela V. McDonnell is the sole candidate seeking the nomination for judge of election in the 2nd District, with a four-year term.

Ligonier Township

Two supervisors seats are open this year.

Republicans Keith Whipkey and Scott Matson filed for nomination for the six-year post. Incumbent Whipkey later resigned his office and in his resignation letter asked constituents to vote for Matson.

Republicans Paul E. Knupp and Gary Thistlethwaite seek nomination to a two-year seat as supervisor.

Republican Sue R. Kinsey is the sole candidate seeking nomination for the four-year term as tax collector.

Robert McDowell seeks the Republican nomination for auditor. No Democrats filed for the four-year seat.

In the Waterford district, Cathrine A. Shadron seeks the Democratic nomination for judge of election. No Republicans filed.

Also in Waterford, Republican Lugene L. Horner and Democrat Geraldine Leiden seek nominations from their parties for the inspector seat, with a four-year term.

Ligonier Valley School District

In the race for four open seats on the school board, Barbara Boring, Kim Dickert-Wallace, Carl Fabrizio, John “Buzzy” E. Maier, Carolyn Shafer, Edward Sutter and David Wilcox have cross-filed to seek nominations from both parties.

Those seven people are seeking nomination to the four open seats that carry four-year terms.

JoAnn Thistlethewaite is the sole candidate for a two-year term on the board on both ballots.

New Florence Borough

Democrat Neva Gindlesperger is the sole candidate for a four-year term as mayor.

Democrat Georgia Lee Ludwig is the only candidate seeking nomination to one of four council open seats, all carrying a four-year term.

Myrtle Luther seeks the Democrat nomination for a four-year term as tax collector. There are no Republican candidates.

St. Clair Township

Republican Dennis Rudnik and Democrat James L. Caldwell are unopposed in their respective primaries for a six-year term as supervisor.

Republican Veronica Susan Buckles and Democrat Tracy Howard are unopposed for tax collector.

Democrats Paula Edwards and Terrence Fishter are the sole candidates running for nomination as judges of election in the Seward and St. Clair districts, respectively. The seats carry four-year terms.

Jewels Phraner is a reporter for Trib Total Media. She can be reached at 724-850-1218 or

Subscribe today! Click here for our subscription offers.



Show commenting policy

Most-Read Ligonier

  1. Ligonier Christmas market features small businesses
  2. Valley Players present ‘A Ligonier Christmas Carol’
  3. Ligonier Valley Historical Society plans 33rd festival of lights
  4. Gray Goose Lakeside Lounge offers unique setting for diners
  5. Ligonier Township planners review findings of zoning consultant
  6. Diamond decorators bring sparkle to Ligonier
  7. Tentative Ligonier Borough budget proposes 1 mill tax increase
  8. Ligonier Township considers discussions to sell municipal authority
  9. Portion of state Route 711 dedicated as ‘Veterans Highway’
  10. Ligonier Township municipal authority manager resigns