ShareThis Page

Ligonier Valley board reorganizes, welcomes 2 new members

| Wednesday, Dec. 11, 2013, 9:03 p.m.

Ligonier Valley School Board welcomed two newcomers and three returning members at its reorganization meeting Dec. 3.

Newly elected David Wilcox and JoAnn Thistlethwaite took the oath of office, as well as Carolyn R. Shafer, John E. Maier and Kim Dickert-Wallace.

Bruce Robinson and Maier were again elected president and vice president of the board, respectively.

John McDowell, Irvin Tantlinger, Maier, Shafer and Irma Hutchinson were again chosen for the buildings and grounds, finance, educational programs, personnel and athletic committees, respectively.

Thistlethwaite will chair the supplemental contracts and policy and legal committees, which the board agreed to combine into one committee.

Dickert-Wallace was selected for the newly created public relations committee. Approval was also given to Dickert-Wallace to serve on the board of directors of the Ligonier Valley School District Foundation.

Tantlinger, Shafer and Hutchinson will again serve on the joint operating committee of the Eastern Westmoreland Career and Technology Center for a one-year term.

Shafer will serve as the Pennsylvania School Boards Association liaison.

Board meetings will be held the second Monday of each month at 7 p.m. with a work session at 6 p.m.

During its regular meeting, the board approved accepting a grant in the amount of $12,000 from the Ligonier Valley Endowment to purchase “Leveled Literacy Resources” for the Ligonier Middle School. Superintendent Dr. Chris Oldham said the resources include series of short books to teach students at various reading levels. The next meeting is Jan. 13, 2014.

TribLIVE commenting policy

You are solely responsible for your comments and by using you agree to our Terms of Service.

We moderate comments. Our goal is to provide substantive commentary for a general readership. By screening submissions, we provide a space where readers can share intelligent and informed commentary that enhances the quality of our news and information.

While most comments will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive, moderating decisions are subjective. We will make them as carefully and consistently as we can. Because of the volume of reader comments, we cannot review individual moderation decisions with readers.

We value thoughtful comments representing a range of views that make their point quickly and politely. We make an effort to protect discussions from repeated comments either by the same reader or different readers

We follow the same standards for taste as the daily newspaper. A few things we won't tolerate: personal attacks, obscenity, vulgarity, profanity (including expletives and letters followed by dashes), commercial promotion, impersonations, incoherence, proselytizing and SHOUTING. Don't include URLs to Web sites.

We do not edit comments. They are either approved or deleted. We reserve the right to edit a comment that is quoted or excerpted in an article. In this case, we may fix spelling and punctuation.

We welcome strong opinions and criticism of our work, but we don't want comments to become bogged down with discussions of our policies and we will moderate accordingly.

We appreciate it when readers and people quoted in articles or blog posts point out errors of fact or emphasis and will investigate all assertions. But these suggestions should be sent via e-mail. To avoid distracting other readers, we won't publish comments that suggest a correction. Instead, corrections will be made in a blog post or in an article.