| Neighborhoods

Larger text Larger text Smaller text Smaller text | Order Photo Reprints

Ligonier Valley Endowment awards grants to nonprofit groups

The Ligonier Valley Endowment Board of Governors includes (first row, from left) Cathy Etchen, Mamie Garver, Penny Gessner, Anna Maier, Dr. Connie Matson, Kimberly Bellas Matrunics and Carolyn Shafer; second row, Joseph Byers, Susan Woolridge, Pamela Hysong and Antoinette Aloe; third row Douglas Welty, John McDowell, Dan Fritz, Ryan Glista and William Stablein.

Email Newsletters

Click here to sign up for one of our email newsletters.
Wednesday, June 18, 2014, 9:00 p.m.

The Ligonier Valley Endowment's Capitalization Campaign, currently in its 39th year of providing financial help for local nonprofit groups in the Ligonier Valley, recently awarded its second-quarter grants.

The 2014 Endowment Scholars, Phebe Cornell and Jake Nemeth, and 2014 Mellon Scholar, Jiselle Bubin, were recognized during a receptio on May 29.

A recent grant awarded to the Ligonier Township Police Department will be used to purchase a long-range infrared sensing device for Lt. Eric Eslary and his canine officer, Blek. Eslary said the device is “state of the art” and noted that there are none currently available in the area.

To date, the group's general support fund has awarded $2.7 million dollars to more than 135 recipients in the Ligonier Valley.

The group is accepting applications for the third quarter awards.

Grants can only be made to an organization which has a tax exempt status. Requests must be submitted four to six weeks before scheduled board meetings which occur the first Thursday of February, May, August and November.

Requests should relate to the present and future well-being of the Ligonier Valley defined by the boundaries of the school district.

Grant requests for special projects such as health, education, environment, recreation, the arts and civic endeavors; seed money for start-up costs; equipment or facility needs; research of a specialized or a technical nature; and grants to capital campaigns with specific goals will be considered for the August distribution.

Requests will not be considered if a grant has already been awarded to the same organization during a three year period.

Members of the Ligonier Valley Endowment Board of Governors include John McDowell, president; Antoinette Aloe, vice president; Kimberly Bellas-Matrunics, secretary; Susan Woolridge, treasurer, Joseph Byers, Cathy Etchen, Dan Fritz, Mamie Garver, Penny Gessner, Ryan Glista, Pamela Hysong, Anna Maier, Dr. Constance Matson, Carolyn Shafer, William Stablein and Douglas Welty.

Individuals who would like to support the endowment may contact a board member or call 724-238-3970. Additional information is available at

Deborah A. Brehun is a staff editor for Trib Total Media. She can be reached at 724-238-2111 or

Subscribe today! Click here for our subscription offers.



Show commenting policy

Most-Read Stories

  1. Starkey: Steelers still knockin’ on Canton’s door
  2. Pitcher Arrieta, Cubs shut down Pirates in victory at PNC Park
  3. Thrill of hunt feeds obsession for plant bargains at end of summer
  4. Heyward-Bey looks to make impact on special teams with Steelers
  5. Pirates notebook: Liriano shrugs off rain-ruined start
  6. Steelers notebook: Spaeth on baby watch
  7. Murrysville oncologist says he had necessary permits to hunt, kill lion
  8. Former Lower Burrell couple to stand trial for animal cruelty
  9. Catching on: Jeannette grad Pryor making progress with transition to receiver
  10. No rest for ex-Kittanning wrestler Nolf
  11. Thrival concert event moves from Bakery Square to LTV site in Hazelwood