| Neighborhoods

Larger text Larger text Smaller text Smaller text | Order Photo Reprints

Candidates from Murrysville, Delmont, Export vie for nominations

Email Newsletters

Click here to sign up for one of our email newsletters.

'American Coyotes' Series

Traveling by Jeep, boat and foot, Tribune-Review investigative reporter Carl Prine and photojournalist Justin Merriman covered nearly 2,000 miles over two months along the border with Mexico to report on coyotes — the human traffickers who bring illegal immigrants into the United States. Most are Americans working for money and/or drugs. This series reports how their operations have a major impact on life for residents and the environment along the border — and beyond.

Wednesday, May 15, 2013, 9:00 p.m.

Candidates from Murrysville, Delmont and Export will vie for their party's nominations during the May 21 primary. Here's a list of who will appear on the Republican and Democratic ballots next week for each community.

Franklin Regional

All eight school board candidates appear on both Republican and Democrat ballots. Four four-year terms are up for grabs.

Listed alphabetically, the candidates are Kimberly Bondi, George Harding, Susan Ilgenfritz, Dennis F. Irvine, Gregg Neavin, Jeremy Samek, Paul A. Scheinert and Bobbi Watt Geer.


There are no contested primary races in Delmont.

Incumbent Republican Mayor Gill Sanchez is unchallenged for the party nomination for a second four-year term in office.

Four borough council seats are up for grabs, but only three candidates — political newcomer Debra A. Jobe and incumbents Andrew Shissler and James H. Bortz III — are running for the four-year terms. All three are Republicans.

Democrat Marybelle Weber is the only candidate for the four-year term for tax collector.

There are no candidates for tax collector, judge of election or inspector of election.


Incumbent Export Mayor Michael Calder faces a challenge for the Democratic nomination from former Mayor Bob Campagna. The office has a four-year term.

There are four Democrats — James A. Mahinske and incumbents K. Melanie Litz, Stanley A. Mahinske and Barry L. Delissio — seeking their party's four council nominations.

Incumbent Clayton Soles is the only Republican candidate for council.

Democrat Cynthia S. Delissio is the lone candidate for tax collector. It has a four-year term.

Democrat Patricia Zaccagnini is the lone candidate for the six-year auditor term. Democrat Marlene Askey is the lone candidate for the four-year term for auditor.

Democrat Patricia Zaccagnini is the lone candidate for judge of election, which has a four-year term.

There are no candidates for inspector of election.


All of the candidates for municipalitywide races in Murrysville are Republicans.

Five candidates are vying for the four party nominations for four-year terms on Murrysville Council. They are challengers Teresa Gildemeister and Loren Kase and incumbents Joan Kearns, Jeffrey Kepler and David Perry.

Incumbent Mayor Bob Brooks is the only candidate seeking the two-year term.

Three Murrysville voting precincts have candidates for judge of election or inspector of election.

In the East Murrysville precinct, Republican Martha A. Zatezalo is the only person running for judge of election, which has a four-year term.

In the Sardis precint, Democrat Romaine Miller and Republican Deanna Hiler are seeking their party nominations for inspector of election, which has a four-year term.

Republican Diane Ondish is the only person running to be Sardis judge of election, a four-year position.

Judge-of-election candidate Donna Stasko and inspector-of-election candidate Constance Jelovich are the only people seeking precint-level nominations in West Murrysville. Both are Republicans.

For complete ballots, including countywide races, see

Subscribe today! Click here for our subscription offers.



Show commenting policy

Most-Read Monroeville

  1. Muslim group hopes to build worship center in Monroeville
  2. Monroeville Jazz Festival to highlight genre’s roots
  3. Pitcairn to push out homes to make way for borough building
  4. Intended demolition of homes draws questions in Pitcairn