| Neighborhoods

Larger text Larger text Smaller text Smaller text | Order Photo Reprints

Some area races lack candidates

Email Newsletters

Click here to sign up for one of our email newsletters.

Daily Photo Galleries

'American Coyotes' Series

Traveling by Jeep, boat and foot, Tribune-Review investigative reporter Carl Prine and photojournalist Justin Merriman covered nearly 2,000 miles over two months along the border with Mexico to report on coyotes — the human traffickers who bring illegal immigrants into the United States. Most are Americans working for money and/or drugs. This series reports how their operations have a major impact on life for residents and the environment along the border — and beyond.

Thursday, March 28, 2013, 12:41 a.m.

Do you reside in Allenport and want to be mayor?

Are you a Cokeburg resident thinking about giving the office of mayor a whirl?

If so, all you need to do to collect a nomination apparently is to write your name in on the May 21 ballot, and get a few of your friends and family members to do the same.

Both mayoral offices are on the primary election ballot. But no candidates have filed on either the Democratic or Republican party tickets for the respective offices.

However, some candidates cannot get enough of campaigning and quests for local office. Charleroi Mayor Nancy Ellis and the man she beat four years ago, Frank Paterra, are both running for that post – and for borough council.

Both filed as Democrats.

Paterra did Ellis one better, seeking a “trifecta” of local offices by running for Charleroi Area School Board.

Paterra is running as a Democrat for the borough offices after being elected as a Republican in 2005.

New Eagle Mayor Glenn Petticord is also seeking re-election – as well as a four-year seat on council.

A large battle is set for Charleroi council, where nine candidates are vying for four seats. That heavy ballot comes as longtime council President Mark Alterici and councilman Walt Stelma – who was elected to a two-year seat in 2011 – are not seeking re-election.

Joining Paterra and Ellis on the council ballot are incumbents Terrence M. Newstrom and Paul Pivovarnik as well as Bob Arthurs, Tom Dubreucq, Deborah L. Kruell-Buck, Larry M. Celaschi and Edward M. Bryner.

Modest council races are brewing in Donora, New Eagle and Stockdale.

But there are not enough candidates on the ballot to fill council vacancies in Allenport, Cokeburg, Dunlevy and Roscoe.

Several incumbent mayors are unopposed for four-year terms – Tom Brown in Bentleyville, John Lignelli in Donora, J. Ross Landman in Dunlevy, Frankie J. Kennedy in Elco, Joseph Daniel Kudlac in Ellsworth, Michael M. Kutsek in Finleyville, Joseph DeBlassio Jr. in Long Branch, Thomas Wilkinson in Roscoe, William Lee in Speers, Barbara Timlin in Stockdale and Amanda J. Minardi in Twilight.

California Mayor Casey Durdines, North Charleroi Mayor Lee Hall and Fallowfield Township Supervisor Olga Woodward are not seeking re-election. Walter Weld in California and Stephen B. Hega Jr. in North Charleroi are unopposed on mayoral ballots.

Former supervisor Donn Henderson is joined on the ballot by Bruce C. Smith and Ron Large for the lone supervisor position in Fallowfield Township.

Chris Buckley is a staff writer for Trib Total Media. He can be reached at 724-684-2642 or

Subscribe today! Click here for our subscription offers.



Show commenting policy

Most-Read Mon Valley

  1. Scout restores Brownsville paddleboat’s smokestacks to earn Eagle award
  2. Steelers training camp has California University link
  3. Monongahela uses modern technology to connect people to the city’s historic past
  4. Brownsville ducky race postponed
  5. 2 men nabbed in Donora drug sting
  6. N. Charleroi man jailed in child sex case
  7. Gilmore wore many hats during successful careers
  8. Monongahela, New Eagle honor veterans with military banners