ShareThis Page

Iacoboni, Egros win Democratic nods for Rostraver commissioner race

| Wednesday, May 22, 2013, 3:06 a.m.

Only one incumbent will be on the ballot for Rostraver Township commissioner in the November general election.

According to unofficial Westmoreland County election results, incumbent commissioner Pat Egros and newcomer Ray Iacoboni secured the top two Democratic nominations.

They will apparently face Republican candidates Jared Naylor and Devin DeRienzo.

The unofficial Democratic ballot results are: Iacoboni, 543; Egros, 373; Nick Lorenzo, 310; Kim Steadman, 307; Harve Anderson, 215; Thomas V. Lazar, 196; and Koe Brun, 77.

Commissioner Andrew Temoshenka did not seek re-election.

Here is a look at the results of other contested races in the Mon Valley:


Elizabeth Township

In the race for Elizabeth Township commissioner in Ward 6, Margaret Morgan and Robert Rhoderick Jr. defeated Margaret Morgan 137 to 57 for the Democratic nomination. No Republicans filed.

Forward Township

Incumbent Forward Township Supervisor David Magiske defeated opponent Richard Dell, 245 to 78, according to unofficial Allegheny County results. No Republicans filed.



Three incumbent council members won Democratic nominations.

According to unofficial Fayette County election results, Jack Lawver and Tracy Zivkovich, both had 253 votes, followed by Tom Bush, 226, and newcomer Robert F. Kovach, 191.

Incumbent Mayor Lester Ward narrowly edged opponent James S. Lawver, 257 to 237 to secure the Democratic nomination. No Republicans filed.

Fayette City

Two incumbents and one newcomer won Democratic nominations for three council seats. Newcomer Scottie Ross and incumbent Dianna M. Vargo, led the votes with 58 each, followed by Raymond Moody Jr., 52, and Charles Mirabella, 29.


Six candidates were vying for four four-year seats on the Democratic ticket in Perryopolis.

With 100 percent of the vote in, the unofficial results show George Usher, Paul Black, Charles “Bud” Petrosky and Frank Masney Jr. won positions on the Democratic ticket on the November ballot.

Usher led with 22 percent, followed by Black with 20 percent. Petrosky received 18 percent and Masney received 17 percent. Pete Gardner received 13 percent and Ron Lombard received 10 percent.

There is one two-year seat open on council.

Christopher Massey won the Republican nomination for the two-year term receiving 100 percent of the vote.

On the Democratic side, Black won the nomination. He received 28 percent of the vote. Usher received 27 percent with Petrosky receiving 20 percent; Masney, 16 percent; and Lombard, 9 percent.

Massey will face Black for the two-year seat in November.

Lombard, who is council president, lost his bid for re-election.

Mayor Timothy Smith faces no competition on the ballot for the Democratic nomination. There are no Republican candidates.

Washington Township

Incumbent Democratic Supervisor Jamie Miller did not win her bid for re-election for a second, six-year term. According to unofficial results, Dan Moody defeated her by 430 to 248. Moody was unsuccessful with an election bid two years ago. No Republicans filed.



Four incumbents won the Democratic nominations in their bids for re-election. According to unofficial Washington County election results, Patsy J. Alfano led the nominations with 268, followed by Jon Bittner, 261, Edwin “Chipp” Glabb, 234, and Paula Gutosky, 223. Newcomer Jim Maddieux fell short with 164. No Republicans filed.


Three incumbents and one newcomer won the top Democratic nominations for four spots on Donora council.

According to unofficial results, incumbents Jason V. Menendez led the ticket with 376, followed by newcomer Jimmie B. Coulter, 285, and incumbents Karen Polkabla, 273, and Dale C. Shawley, 252. Candidates Bill Hevia, 222, and Jamie M. Dickie, 219, were not successful. No Republicans filed.

Councilwoman Denylle Pucel did not seek re-election.


Four people won the Democratic nominations for four seats on Stockdale council. According to unofficial results, incumbent Michael H. Lee led with 59 votes, followed by newcomers Kristin L. Marcy, 58, and Renee Corley, 45, and incumbent Lou Furlong, 44. Bill Furlong fell short with 32 votes. No Republicans filed.

Union Township

In the race for one seat for Union Township supervisor, Ed Frye defeated Carol Rabe, 328 to 279, for the Democratic nomination. Frye will face lone GOP candidate Charles E. Trax Jr. in the fall. None of the candidates are incumbents.

West Brownsville

In the race for West Brownsville mayor, Martin Brockman Jr. defeated Mark A. Costello, 117 to 73 for the Democratic nomination. No Republicans filed.


North Belle Vernon

Four Democrats will face one Republican for the four spots on North Belle Vernon council.

The unofficial Democratic results are: Incumbents Mark Frederick, 153, Betty J. Shine-Hill, 129, Jon Wasicek, 124, and newcomer Barbara Peters, 106. Incumbent John Ross Jr. fell short with 93 votes.

Frederick was appointed last week to fill spot the council vacancy of Craig Ambrose, who was just appointed mayor to fill the term of retired mayor Ed Lyons.

The four Democratic winners will face the lone GOP candidate Karen Wadsworth.


In the race for four seats on Smithton council, Karen Primm led the Democratic ticket with 49 votes, followed by Daniel K. Barthels, 41, Bruce Celapino, 39, and Christine Tutena, 30. Candidates Larry Heltebran, 20, and Carl T. Cathers, 14, fell short. The top four winners will face Republican candidate Kala S. Mologne in the fall.

TribLIVE commenting policy

You are solely responsible for your comments and by using you agree to our Terms of Service.

We moderate comments. Our goal is to provide substantive commentary for a general readership. By screening submissions, we provide a space where readers can share intelligent and informed commentary that enhances the quality of our news and information.

While most comments will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive, moderating decisions are subjective. We will make them as carefully and consistently as we can. Because of the volume of reader comments, we cannot review individual moderation decisions with readers.

We value thoughtful comments representing a range of views that make their point quickly and politely. We make an effort to protect discussions from repeated comments either by the same reader or different readers

We follow the same standards for taste as the daily newspaper. A few things we won't tolerate: personal attacks, obscenity, vulgarity, profanity (including expletives and letters followed by dashes), commercial promotion, impersonations, incoherence, proselytizing and SHOUTING. Don't include URLs to Web sites.

We do not edit comments. They are either approved or deleted. We reserve the right to edit a comment that is quoted or excerpted in an article. In this case, we may fix spelling and punctuation.

We welcome strong opinions and criticism of our work, but we don't want comments to become bogged down with discussions of our policies and we will moderate accordingly.

We appreciate it when readers and people quoted in articles or blog posts point out errors of fact or emphasis and will investigate all assertions. But these suggestions should be sent via e-mail. To avoid distracting other readers, we won't publish comments that suggest a correction. Instead, corrections will be made in a blog post or in an article.