| Neighborhoods

Larger text Larger text Smaller text Smaller text | Order Photo Reprints

Results of Mon Valley contested races

Email Newsletters

Click here to sign up for one of our email newsletters.

Daily Photo Galleries

'American Coyotes' Series

Traveling by Jeep, boat and foot, Tribune-Review investigative reporter Carl Prine and photojournalist Justin Merriman covered nearly 2,000 miles over two months along the border with Mexico to report on coyotes — the human traffickers who bring illegal immigrants into the United States. Most are Americans working for money and/or drugs. This series reports how their operations have a major impact on life for residents and the environment along the border — and beyond.

Wednesday, Nov. 6, 2013, 1:41 a.m.

There will be a changing of the guard in New Eagle Borough after current Mayor Glenn Petticord was defeated in the mayoral race and in a bid for a seat on council.

Petticord, a Democrat, lost his bid for re-election as mayor to Charles Fine by 16 votes, 168-152, according to unofficial results by the Washington County Election office.

The mayor received 163 votes in his bid for a council seat. He was defeated by incumbents, Democrat Jack Fine (212), the current council president, and Republicans Archie Caseber (196) and William Sherry (192).

According to unofficial election results, here's a wrap-up of other contested municipal elections in the area:

Allegheny County


In Elizabeth, Councilwoman V. Ann Malady will have to decide on whether she wants to be the new mayor or continue serving as a councilwoman.

Democrat Malady cruised past incumbent Republican Mayor David G. Householder in the race for the mayor's office. Malady garnered 223 votes to Householder's 78.

In the four-seat council race, Democrat Chad Rager was the top vote-getter with 193 votes. Malady received 140 votes and fellow Democrat Devie J. Rollison received 136 votes. Republican Robin Miller also won a seat on council after receiving 134 votes.

Assuming Malady chooses to become the borough's mayor, council will appoint someone to the seat she would be vacating.

Fayette County•


In the mayoral race, incumbent Nicki Todaro defeated Republican challenger Domenick Ottoviani Jr. by a margin of 73-46.


Council will be looking to appoint someone to a seat on borough council. Democrat Paul E. Black won both a four year, and two year seat on council. He defeated Republican Christopher Massey, 166-117, to win the two-year seat. Council will appoint someone to fill the two-year seat.

Joining Black for three other four-year seats are Democrats George Usher, Charles “Bud” Petrosky, and Frank Masney Jr.

Washington County

Nottingham Township

Incumbent Supervisor Peter Marcoline, a Republican, defeated challenger W. Lee Schafer, 378 to 295 in a bid for a seat on the board of supervisors. Union Township

In the race for an open supervisor seat, Republican Charles Trax Jr. defeated Democrat Ed Frye by 534 to 445.

West Pike Run Township

Republican Laura Hough defeated Democrat Walter D. McFann by a 16 vote margin, 164-148, in a bid to become township supervisor.

Westmoreland County

North Belle Vernon

Borough council will have a new member as Democrat Barb Peters won a seat.

She will join incumbents Mark Frederick, Betty Shine-Hill, and Jon Wasicek, who all won their re-election bids.

Councilman John Ross, who was defeated in May's primary election, was defeated in a write-in campaign Tuesday.

Frederick, was appointed in May to fill Mayor Craig Ambrose's seat after he was appointed to the position when Ed Lyons Sr. retired on April 30.


Christine Tutena ran unopposed for mayor, but was also elected to a seat on borough council.

It was a sweep for the Democrats in the quest for four seats on borough council.

Bruce Celapino (22.6 percent), Daniel Barthels (22.2 percent), Karen Primm (21.4 percent) and Christine Tutena (19.4 percent) topped Republican candidate, Kala S. Mologne, who only received just over 10 percent of the vote.

Jeremy Sellew is a staff writer for Trib Total Media. He can be reached at 724-684-2667 or

Subscribe today! Click here for our subscription offers.



Show commenting policy

Most-Read Mon Valley

  1. Scout restores Brownsville paddleboat’s smokestacks to earn Eagle award
  2. Monongahela uses modern technology to connect people to the city’s historic past
  3. Steelers training camp has California University link
  4. Brownsville ducky race postponed
  5. Watch out for computer scams, identifty theft
  6. N. Charleroi man jailed in child sex case
  7. Gilmore wore many hats during successful careers
  8. Washington Township firefighters make child’s dream come true
  9. 7 Up distributed from two Charleroi sites
  10. Century-old railroad car to find new use along trail in West Newton
  11. State Secretary of Labor and Industry Manderino enjoys Monessen homecoming