| Neighborhoods

Larger text Larger text Smaller text Smaller text | Order Photo Reprints

Murrysville Council declines to give raises to FTMSA board members

Email Newsletters

Click here to sign up for one of our email newsletters.
By Daveen Rae Kurutz
Thursday, Feb. 7, 2013, 7:14 a.m.

Members of the Franklin Township Municipal Sanitary Authority won't be getting the raise they hoped for.

Murrysville Council last month failed to approve increasing the compensation for the five-member board. In December, the authority board approved raising the stipend from $50 per public meeting appearance to $100. Under the proposal, the chairman would receive $125 instead of the current $75 per meeting stipend.

The authority operates as a separate entity from the municipality; however, council must approve salary changes. The stipend has not been increased in at least 20 years, authority manager Jim Brucker said.

If it would have been approved, the increase would not have affected the current members of the board until their reappointments.

The motion died for lack of a second. Council members did not comment on the lack of support for the move.

Volunteers needed

The municipality is seeking volunteers to fill five open positions on two advisory boards.

A five-year term on the municipal Zoning Hearing Board is available. The term will expire on Dec. 31, 2017.

There are four vacancies on the Uniform Construction Code board of appeals. The positions are four-year terms.

For more information, see


Murrysville Council announced its commission and committee assignments last month. Each council member sits in on at least one board, committee or commission meeting each month and reports back to council with updates on issues.

For 2013, Council President Joan Kearns will serve on the personnel and comprehensive plan committees. Vice President Rege Synan will serve on the emergency management service committees and the uniform construction code board. Councilman Jeff Kepler will serve on the Environmental Advisory Council. Councilman Dave Perry will return to the sanitary authority board, which he was a member of prior to joining council.

Councilman Josh Lorenz will monitor the planning commission and the comprehensive plan committee. Councilman Bill Vance will monitor the parks committee. Councilman Ron Summerhill will monitor the pension committee and library board.

Daveen Rae Kurutz is a staff writer for Trib Total Media. She can be reached at 412-856-7400, ext. 8627, or

Subscribe today! Click here for our subscription offers.



Show commenting policy

Most-Read Stories

  1. Westmoreland County Community College trustees approve $38M preliminary budget
  2. Pa. business sector tells GOP committee of worries about minimum wage, taxes, pensions
  3. Fayette deputy warden asks for more guards
  4. Starkey: Kang story of the year for Pirates
  5. Healthy defensive back Mitchell eager for 2nd season with Steelers
  6. Penguins GM Rutherford ‘wouldn’t make’ Despres trade today
  7. Fayette County Salary Board adds jobs, OKs additional hirings
  8. IRS cybersecurity breach touches lives of homebuyers, others
  9. Westmoreland County Transit Authority to consider raising bus fare rate for paratransit participants
  10. Allgheny County charter school students give more than $11K to assist homeless children
  11. Pirates use big 7th inning to sweep Marlins, stretch winning streak