ShareThis Page

Candidates file for local elections this year

| Friday, March 15, 2013, 4:21 p.m.

Last week was the deadline for Westmoreland County residents to file petitions to campaign for their party's nomination for local office. This year, the May 21 primary has three contested local races.

This list is unofficial, and candidates have until March 27 to withdraw their petition.

Petitions, which must have 10 signatures from registered members of the political party, are not official until the Westmoreland County Bureau of Elections verifies the list.

Franklin Regional School Board

Eight residents have filed for the party nominations for four open seats, each with a four-year term. All candidates are cross-filed, meaning they will appear on both the Republican and Democrat ballots.

The candidates are incumbents Kimberly Bondi, Dennis Irvine and Paul A. Scheinert, and newcomers George Harding, Susan Ilgenfritz, Gregg Neavin, Jeremy Samek and Bobbi Watt-Geer.

Missing from that list is incumbent school board Vice President Joe Seymour.


Only three people are seeking party nominations for four open council seats, which leaves open room for up to five write-in candidates to win party nominations.

Republican incumbents James Bortz III and Andrew Shissler are joined by newcomer Debra Jobe seeking nominations for the four-year terms. No Democrats filed.

Councilwoman Cindy Osier and newly-appointed councilman Clint McCutcheon did not file petitions.

Incumbent Mayor Gill Sanchez, a Republican, is the only person to file for nomination for a four-year term as mayor.


Two Democrats have filed for a four-year term as mayor: incumbent Michael W. Calder and former Mayor Bob Campagna. Calder defeated Campagna in 2009. Campagna had an unsuccessful bid for council in 2011.

Four seats are open on council, each for four-year terms.

Four Democrats are seeking their party's nomination for council: Barry L. Delission, K. Melanie Litz, James A. Mahinske and Stanley A. Mahinske. One Republican, Clayton Soles, filed.


Incumbent Mayor Bob Brooks, a Republican, is the only person to file for a two-year term as Murrysville mayor this year.

Four seats are open on Murrysville Council, each for four-year terms. Five Republicans are seeking a nomination: Theresa Gildenmeister, Loreen Kase, Joan C. Kearns, Jeffrey Kepler and David Perry. No Democrats filed.

Daveen Rae Kurutz is a staff writer for Trib Total Media. She can be reached at 412-856-7400, ext. 8627, or

TribLIVE commenting policy

You are solely responsible for your comments and by using you agree to our Terms of Service.

We moderate comments. Our goal is to provide substantive commentary for a general readership. By screening submissions, we provide a space where readers can share intelligent and informed commentary that enhances the quality of our news and information.

While most comments will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive, moderating decisions are subjective. We will make them as carefully and consistently as we can. Because of the volume of reader comments, we cannot review individual moderation decisions with readers.

We value thoughtful comments representing a range of views that make their point quickly and politely. We make an effort to protect discussions from repeated comments either by the same reader or different readers

We follow the same standards for taste as the daily newspaper. A few things we won't tolerate: personal attacks, obscenity, vulgarity, profanity (including expletives and letters followed by dashes), commercial promotion, impersonations, incoherence, proselytizing and SHOUTING. Don't include URLs to Web sites.

We do not edit comments. They are either approved or deleted. We reserve the right to edit a comment that is quoted or excerpted in an article. In this case, we may fix spelling and punctuation.

We welcome strong opinions and criticism of our work, but we don't want comments to become bogged down with discussions of our policies and we will moderate accordingly.

We appreciate it when readers and people quoted in articles or blog posts point out errors of fact or emphasis and will investigate all assertions. But these suggestions should be sent via e-mail. To avoid distracting other readers, we won't publish comments that suggest a correction. Instead, corrections will be made in a blog post or in an article.