Murrysville Star named best nondaily newspaper in state

| Wednesday, May 22, 2013, 6:12 p.m.

The Murrysville Star was honored as the best nondaily newspaper in the state by the Pennsylvania Chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists over the weekend at newspaper awards banquet in Harrisburg. In addition to the Newspaper of the Year honor won by the Star staff, several of the writers, photographers and editors at the weekly newspapers owned by Trib Total Media were named winners of state honors for their work in 2012.

Gateway Newspapers received 35 awards from the Society of Professional Journalists, or SPJ; the Pennsylvania Newspaper Association, or PNA; and the Pennsylvania Women's Press Association, or PWPA.

Also, earlier this month, Gateway Newspapers staffers also were finalists for three Golden Quill awards and won one. That contest is administered locally by the Press Club of Western Pennsylvania, which represents communications professionals in a 29-county region.

The SPJ and PNA awards were presented at the Harrisburg Hilton. The Golden Quill awards were presented earlier this month in Pittsburgh.

Winners and nominees from the east suburban weeklies are:

SPJ Spotlight Awards

• Murrysville Star, first place, Newspaper of the Year.

• Lillian DeDomenic, Times Express, first place, news photography, “Local Sikhs mourn victims of temple shooting.”

• DeDomenic, Murrysville Star, second place, news photography, “A family reconnects after 100 years.”

• DeDomenic, Gateway Newspapers, second place, photo story, “Spinners … newest attraction at Kennywood, Sandcastle.”

• Daveen Rae Kurutz, Murrysville Star, third place, enterprise reporting, “By the Numbers.” • Bobby Cherry, Sewickley Herald, second place, commentary

• Randy Jarosz, Signal Item, first place, sports photography, “Bishop Canevin dismantles Carlynton, 38-0”

• Kristina Serafini, Sewickley Herald, first place, feature photography, “Flash Dance”

• Jarosz, North Journal, second place, feature photography, “St. Alexis Festival”

PNA Keystone Awards

Division V — nondaily newspapers over 10,000 circulation

• Vince Townley, Times Express, first place, editorial.

• Kyle Lawson, Times Express, first place, ongoing news coverage, “Terry Smith coverage.”

• Lawson, Times Express, first place, news beat reporting, “Public safety beat.”

• Kurutz, Murrysville Star, second place, news beat reporting, “Education beat reporting.”

• Kurutz, Murrysville Star, second place, feature beat reporting, “History beat reporting.”

• Matt Grubba, Norwin Star, second place, sports event coverage, “Knights topple defending WPIAL champs.”

• Grubba, Norwin Star, second place, sports photo, “Knights have 21 shots at WPIAL medal stand.”

Division VI — nondaily newspapers 5,000 to 9,999 circulation

• Brian Estadt, Penn-Trafford Star, first place, headline writing, “Paper cuts, Race relations, Panel discussion.”

• Chris Foreman, Penn-Trafford Star, second place, ongoing news coverage, “Trafford beat.”

PWPA Excellence in Journalism

• Kurutz, Murrysville Star, first place, sports story, “Competitive Cheer squad strives to recapture positive, winning attitude.”

• Kurutz, Murrysville Star, second place, lifestyles story, “History buffs won't Rugh the day they find more items.”

Golden Quill Award nominees, nondaily

• Patrick Varine, Penn Hills Progress, feature article or series, finalist “Les Banos, Nazi infiltrator, best known for work following war.”

— Staff report

Subscribe today! Click here for our subscription offers.


Show commenting policy