| Neighborhoods

Larger text Larger text Smaller text Smaller text | Order Photo Reprints

Borland chosen as Franklin Regional board president

Photo Daveen Rae Kurutz Murrysville Star
In front, from left, are Franklin Regional school board members Roberta Cook, Jane Tower, Susan Ilgenfritz and George Harding. In back are Superintendent Jamie Piraino, board members Herb Yingling, Jeremy Samek, Gregg Neavin, Larry Borland and Dennis Pavlik and Magisterial Judge Charles Conway — who swore in Ilgenfritz, Harding, Samek and Neavin.

Email Newsletters

Sign up for one of our email newsletters.
By Daveen Rae Kurutz
Wednesday, Dec. 11, 2013, 9:00 p.m.

For the first time since 2005, the Franklin Regional School Board has a new leader.

The board Monday elected Larry Borland as its new president and appointed former president Herb Yingling as vice president.

“I was surprised with this decision,” said Borland, who took office two years ago. “I hope to count on Herb as a mentor on things.”

Borland and Yingling were the only nominees for their positions and were appointed by a unanimous vote. Both were nominated by board member Jane Tower.

Tower said there have been substantial changes in the school board in recent months. Four political newcomers — George Harding, Susan Ilgenfritz, Gregg Neavin and Jeremy Samek — defeated three incumbents and another candidate in last month's election. Yingling and board member Roberta Cook are the only remaining board members who served prior to 2011.

Yingling had served as board president since 2005. Tower said it was time for a change.

“We had been moving towards this for a while; other board members had been nominated for president in the past,” Tower said.

Borland, 68, is a pediatric anesthesiologist at Children's Hospital of Pittsburgh of UPMC. Though he has a busy work schedule, he said, he will have time for his responsibilities as board president.

“The question came, what about the time commitment?” Borland said. “I'm prepared to do the time commitment and make adjustments to my career.”

Cook was re-elected as treasurer by a 7-2 vote. Neavin received the other two votes.

Subscribe today! Click here for our subscription offers.



Show commenting policy

Most-Read Murrysville

  1. Delmont’s 2016 budget includes a fourth patrolman
  2. New holiday toy drive aims to keep all donations in Western Pa.
  3. Delmont, Murrysville, Export plan variety of holiday happenings
  4. Area’s road crews gearing up for winter weather
  5. Delmont, Murrysville fire companies explore recruitment, incentive options
  6. Photo gallery: Murrysville Woman’s Club Christmas Tea