| Neighborhoods

Larger text Larger text Smaller text Smaller text | Order Photo Reprints

Norwin-area candidates file petitions

By Staff Report
Friday, March 15, 2013, 1:57 p.m.

Several residents across the Norwin region filed petitions with the Westmoreland County Elections Bureau to run for their party's nomination for various seats during the 2013 primary election May 21.

North Huntingdon

Republican incumbent Zachary Haigis and Democrat Anthony Gockel plan to seek their party's nomination for the 2nd Ward commissioner seat, while Republican incumbent Richard Gray is running unopposed to represent the township's 4th Ward.

Democrat Thomas G. Krause plans to seek his party's nomination for the 6th Ward commissioner's seat.

Republican incumbent Lee Moffatt, who currently is the board president, said he does not plan to run for a third term. Instead, Moffatt said, he plans to devote more time to his family.

Democratic incumbent Shelley Buchanan is running unopposed for another term as tax collector.


The Irwin council race features Republican incumbents John Cassandro, Gail Macioce and Peggie Watson, along with Democratic incumbent Phyllis Thiem.

They are running for nominations to fill four seats, each with a four-year term, on council.

Irwin Mayor Daniel Rose, a Democrat, is running unopposed for his party's nomination, while Republican Len Cole and Democrat Lois Bennett plan to run for their party's nomination for borough tax collector.

North Irwin

Despite three open seats on North Irwin Council, nobody filed nomination petitions with the elections bureau to seek candidacy.

North Irwin Mayor James Douglas, a Republican, is running unopposed for his second term.

Democratic incumbent Maureen LaVerde is running unopposed for another term as tax collector.

Norwin School District

Norwin School Board candidates include incumbents Jerry O'Donnell, Don Rhodes and Barbara Viola of North Huntingdon and Becky Gediminskas of Irwin. They also includes Brandon Ames, Gary Brozek, Robert Eagleson, and John J. Russo of North Huntingdon and Al Lynn of Irwin.

All of the school board candidates are cross-filed for the Democrat and Republican ballots.

They are seeking nominations to run for four seats, each with a four-year term, during the November election.

The final day for candidates who filed nomination petitions to withdraw is Wednesday, and April 22 is the final day to register to vote during the primary election. The municipal election is Nov. 5, and the final day to register to vote is Oct. 7.



Show commenting policy

Most-Read Stories

  1. Opposing defenses find success against Steelers by eschewing blitz
  2. Penguins forward Downie becoming a hit with teammates
  3. Steelers looking for Spence to step up game at inside linebacker
  4. Shale oil, gas finds put Mon Valley on path to renaissance, leaders say
  5. Western Pennsylvania residents chill about forecasters’ spat
  6. WHO: Nigeria’s Ebola outbreak is officially over
  7. Large-scale batteries are integral in shift to renewable energy
  8. Pitt’s defense has not rested in post-Donald era
  9. Snapshot in time: Comparing Cowher, Tomlin drafts
  10. North Huntingdon church shaken by youth pastor’s child porn rap
  11. Fox Chapel native nearing return to Penn State offensive line
Subscribe today! Click here for our subscription offers.