| Neighborhoods

Larger text Larger text Smaller text Smaller text | Order Photo Reprints

Vacant seat on North Irwin council

About The Tribune-Review
The Tribune-Review can be reached via e-mail or at 412-321-6460.
Contact Us | Video | Photo Reprints

By Amanda Dolasinski

Published: Wednesday, Dec. 18, 2013, 9:00 p.m.

A two-year council seat is up for grabs in North Irwin.

After write-in votes were certified last month, North Irwin officials determined there is a vacant seat for a two-year term. Council is accepting letters of interest from residents to fill the position.

Edwin “Bo” Anthony, who has previously served on council, was elected by write-in votes to both a four-year term and a two-year term. Borough manager Adele Nehas confirmed that he chose the four-year term.

Anthony did not return a call seeking comment.

“Whoever wants the seat would have to submit a letter,” Mayor James Douglas said. “During the January meeting, we'll open the letters and have council vote on it.”

Also elected by write-in votes were Michael Schade and Jeff Scott.

The county election board signed a precertification of the write-in votes, and then there was a five-day waiting period for residents to challenge the votes. With no objections, the write-in votes were certified by the board on Nov. 27.

In the case of a vacancy, council members have 30 days to fill it, according to the state borough code. If that doesn't work, council must form a vacancy board that has 15 days to fill the spot.

If the seat remains open, the vacancy board must petition the Court of Common Pleas to appoint a resident who is registered to vote in the community.

Incumbent council member John McIntyre was re-elected, according to November election results.

Ken Galley, Kim Macalus, Matt Berkhouse, and Ron Rodgers did not seek re-election. Berkhouse had been appointed to finish the term of Zach Laugherty, who resigned in 2012. Tom Harrison resigned in January, but his term would have been completed in this month. Ronald Brown remains on council after being elected in 2012. Gina Sonnik was appointed to finish the term of Bernie Reynolds, who died in May.

Amanda Dolasinski is a staff writer for Trib Total Media.



Show commenting policy

Most-Read Stories

  1. Maatta not a top rookie finalist
  2. Indictment alleges scheme defrauded government of $10 million
  3. Penguins insider: Malkin found confidence in Game 3
  4. Switch in pairings helps Penguins defensemen find groove in Game 3
  5. Duquesne teachers accept fact-finder recommendations for contract
  6. Kovacevic: No science to solving power play
  7. Highmark’s insurance profit falls 40%
  8. ‘Save Chatham’ protesters ordered to leave Shadyside campus
  9. Alaska’s Iditarod Trail challenges Unity couple
  10. Heyl: Even crooks know UPMC’s full of it
  11. Pirates notebook: MLB metes out suspensions
Subscribe today! Click here for our subscription offers.