Trib Total Media writers, photographers receive awards

| Wednesday, May 1, 2013, 9:00 p.m.

Writers, photographers and editors at the weekly newspapers owned by Trib Total Media were named winners of state honors for work in 2012.

Gateway Newspapers received 35 awards recently announced by the Pennsylvania Newspaper Association, or PNA; the Society of Professional Journalists, or SPJ; and the Pennsylvania Women's Press Association, or PWPA.

Staffers also are finalists for three Golden Quill awards, administered locally by the Press Club of Western Pennsylvania, which represents communications professionals in a 29-county region.

The Golden Quill winners will be announced in May 13. Winners and nominees in the weeklies are:

SPJ Spotlight Awards

• Murrysville Star, first place, Newspaper of the Year.

• Lillian DeDomenic, Gateway Newspapers, second place, photo story, “Spinners … newest attraction at Kennywood, Sandcastle.”

• Daveen Rae Kurutz, Murrysville Star, third place, enterprise reporting, “By the Numbers.”

• DeDomenic, Times Express, first place, news photography, “Local Sikhs mourn victims of temple shooting.”

• DeDomenic, Murrysville Star, second place, news photography, “A family reconnects after 100 years.”

PNA Keystone Awards

Division V — nondaily newspapers over 10,000 circulation

• Vince Townley, Times Express, first place, editorial.

• Kyle Lawson, Times Express, first place, ongoing news coverage, “Terry Smith coverage.”

• Matt Grubba, Norwin Star, second place, sports event coverage, “Knights topple defending WPIAL champs.”

• Lawson, Times Express, first place, news beat reporting, “Public safety beat.”

• Kurutz, Murrysville Star, second place, news beat reporting, “Education beat reporting.”

• Kurutz, Murrysville Star, second place, feature beat reporting, “History beat reporting.”

• Grubba, Norwin Star, second place, sports photo, “Knights have 21 shots at WPIAL medal stand.”

Division VI — nondaily newspapers 5,000 to 9,999 circulation

•Chris Foreman, Penn-Trafford Star, second place, ongoing news coverage, “Trafford beat.”

• Brian Estadt, Penn-Trafford Star, first place, headline writing, “Paper cuts, Race relations, Panel discussion.”

Division VII — nondaily newspapers 4,999 or lower circulation

• Martin Stewart, The Herald, Aspinwall, first place, sports/outdoor column, “Stew says.”

• Jan Pakler, The Herald, Aspinwall, first place, news photo, “Last goodbye.”

PWPA Excellence in Journalism

• Kurutz, Murrysville Star, first place, sports story, “Competitive Cheer squad strives to recapture positive, winning attitude.”

• Kurutz, Murrysville Star, second place, lifestyles story, “History buffs won't Rugh the day they find more items.”

Golden Quill Award nominees, nondaily

• Patrick Varine, Penn Hills Progress, feature article or series, “Les Banos, Nazi infiltrator, best known for work following war.”

Subscribe today! Click here for our subscription offers.


Do you want to help us improve our commenting platform?
Click here to take this a survey.

Show commenting policy