Plum primary results available

| Wednesday, May 22, 2013, 12:48 p.m.

Oblock Junior High School PTA President Michele Gallagher said she is “fairly confident” she will be the fourth candidate on the Democratic side of the ballot for Plum School Board in the general election.

In what appears to be a write-in victory, Gallagher said, she garnered 548 votes, which would bump incumbent Sal Colella, who got 507 votes, according to unofficial results from the Allegheny County Elections Division.

There are four open seats. All the candidates for school board cross-filed, which means were on both the Democratic and Republican ballots.

Gallagher said the 1,054 write-in votes in the Democratic race primarily were split between herself and Albert D. Caprara. Both Gallagher and Caprara are registered Democrats.

Gallagher, who a week ago mounted a write-in campaign, said she received another 200 votes on the Republican side of the ballot.

If Gallagher prevails, she, registered Democrats Michelle M. Stepnick and Dawn Lynn Check and incumbent Kevin Dowdell, a registered Republican, would be the candidates on the Democratic ballot for the November general election.

Dowdell also appears to have been nominated on the Republican ballot, along with incumbents Andrew Drake and Colella, as well as newcomer Jim Rogers, registered all Republicans.

Gallagher said she decided to seek a seat on the school board because she is not happy with some members' actions including the proposed cut of some electives to help balance the 2013-14 budget.

“It looks like some of the board members are more concerned with financial planning vs. the educational system our children should be getting,” Gallagher said.

Also, former Plum Borough Republican Committee Chairman Dave Majernik bested opponents Joe Tommarello, a Plum School Board member, and Christine Scardina-Gazzo, a former councilwoman, to secure the Republican nomination for mayor, according to the unofficial results.

Majernik will face off with incumbent Richard Hrivnak, who was unopposed in the Democratic primary, in the general election that is Nov. 5.

“I am honored and humbled by the support of Plum voters,” Majernik said. “If elected, I will strive to live up to the trust people have placed in me.”

The unofficial vote tallies are as follows:


Democratic ballot:

Four seats available

Michelle M. Stepnick – 1,251

Dawn Lynn Check – 1,218

Kevin Dowdell – 518

Salvatore Colella – 507

Jim Rogers – 489

Andrew Drake – 425

Dana Jump – 301

Write-in – 1,054

Republican ballot:

Four seats available

Andrew Drake – 637

Kevin Dowdell -- 630

Jim Rogers – 623

Salvatore Colella -- 599

Michelle M. Stepnick – 507

Dawn Lynn Check – 467

Dana Jump – 148

Write-in – 365



Richard A. Hrivnak – 1,405

Write-in – 54


Dave Majernik – 705

Joe Tommarello – 278

Christine Scardina-Gazzo – 91

Write-in – 19



Four seats available

David Vento – 1,276

Paul W. Dern – 1,197

Michael A. Guida – 1,194

Ron Gancas – 1,038

Write-in – 55


Four seats available

Mike Doyle – 937

Michael Dell – 856

Leonard Szarmach – 834

Keith E. Nowalk – 765



Jeff Russo – 1,279

Write-in – 69


Harry R. Schlegel – 993

Write-In – 17

Subscribe today! Click here for our subscription offers.


Show commenting policy