ShareThis Page

Primary 2013: A glance at Sewickley Valley races

| Wednesday, May 8, 2013, 9:00 p.m.

Here is a look at the May 21 primary across the Sewickley Valley.

Pennsylvania operates a closed primary, which means voters must be a member of a candidate's party to select that candidate. Polls are open from 7 a.m. to 8 p.m.

Those voting for the first time must present an approved form of identification at the polls, including a driver's license, student ID or government ID.

For information about Allegheny County, including how to find your polling place, call 412-350-4500, or log onto

Polling places

The following are the designated polling places for each municipality.

• Aleppo: Aleppo Municipal Building, 100 North Drive

• Bell Acres: Big Sewickley Creek Volunteer Fire Department

• Edgeworth: Edgeworth Club ballroom

• Glenfield: Glenfield Park Building, 315 Dawson Ave.

• Haysville: No. 1 Ohio River Blvd. store room

• Leet: HealthSouth, Camp Meeting Road; Fair Oaks VFD, 190 Ambridge Ave.

• Leetsdale: Leetsdale Borough Building community room, 373 Beaver St.

• Glen Osborne: Osborne Elementary School

• Sewickley: All wards at St. Stephen's Church, Grace Commons

• Sewickley Heights: Fern Hollow, 1901 Glen Mitchell Road

• Sewickley Hills: Borough Building, 349 Magee Road

Quaker ValleySchool Board

Candidates cross-filed for school board elections unless indicated.

Region I (two seats)

Bell Acres Borough, Leet Township, Leetsdale Borough

• Daniela Sauro Helkowski

• Jonathan Kuzma

• P. Richard Warburton

• David V. Weicht

Region II (one seat)

Sewickley Borough

• Sarah Stoessel Heres*

Region III (one seat)

Aleppo Township, Edgeworth Borough, Glenfield Borough, Haysville Borough, Glen Osborne Borough, Sewickley Heights Borough, Sewickley Hills Borough

• Robb D. Bunde (Democrat)

• Mary Ann Wagner


Commissioners (three seats)

• Edward K. Beaman (Republican)*

• Clayton R. Steup (Republican)*

• Linda S. Vescio (Republican)*

Bell Acres


• Ronald Besong (Democrat)*

Council (four seats)

• Glenn Bohn (Republican)

• Philip Ewanko (Democrat)*

• Robert Powner (Democrat)*

• David Renfrew (Republcan)*



• Wayne Murphy (Republican)*

Council (four seats)

• Carrie A. Duffield (Republican)*

• Joseph T. Hoepp (Republican)*

• Ivan T. Hofmann (Republican)*

• Daniel Wilson (Republican)

Glen Osborne


• Barbara Carrier (Democrat)

Council (four seats)

• John Orndorff, Jr. (Democrat)*

Leet Township

Commissioners (three seats)

• Susan Beeman Barness (Democrat)*

• Wayne Hyjek (Democrat)*

• James B. Janaszek (Democrat)



• Peter Poninsky (Democrat)*

Council (four seats)

• Osman Awad (Democrat)*

• Thomas Belcastro (Democrat)

• Benjimen Frederick (Democrat)

• Linda Michael (Democrat)*

• Roger Nanni (Democrat)*

• Michael Nobers (Democrat)

• Wesley James (Republican)*

Sewickley Heights

Council (four seats)

• Samuel P. Hundley (Republican)*

• Craig S. Kinney (Republican)*

• Thomas L. Pangburn (Republican)*

• Belinda M. Thompson (Republican)*



• Brian Jeffe (Republican)*


Ward 1 (two seats)

• Susan Aleshire (Republican)*

• Charles Driscoll (Republican)*

Ward 2 (one seat)

• Todd Renner

Ward 3 (two seats)

• Stan Ference*

• Larry Rice

* Denotes incumbent

Note: Information was not available for Glenfield, Haysville and Sewickley Hills.

Source: Allegheny County Elections Division

TribLIVE commenting policy

You are solely responsible for your comments and by using you agree to our Terms of Service.

We moderate comments. Our goal is to provide substantive commentary for a general readership. By screening submissions, we provide a space where readers can share intelligent and informed commentary that enhances the quality of our news and information.

While most comments will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive, moderating decisions are subjective. We will make them as carefully and consistently as we can. Because of the volume of reader comments, we cannot review individual moderation decisions with readers.

We value thoughtful comments representing a range of views that make their point quickly and politely. We make an effort to protect discussions from repeated comments either by the same reader or different readers

We follow the same standards for taste as the daily newspaper. A few things we won't tolerate: personal attacks, obscenity, vulgarity, profanity (including expletives and letters followed by dashes), commercial promotion, impersonations, incoherence, proselytizing and SHOUTING. Don't include URLs to Web sites.

We do not edit comments. They are either approved or deleted. We reserve the right to edit a comment that is quoted or excerpted in an article. In this case, we may fix spelling and punctuation.

We welcome strong opinions and criticism of our work, but we don't want comments to become bogged down with discussions of our policies and we will moderate accordingly.

We appreciate it when readers and people quoted in articles or blog posts point out errors of fact or emphasis and will investigate all assertions. But these suggestions should be sent via e-mail. To avoid distracting other readers, we won't publish comments that suggest a correction. Instead, corrections will be made in a blog post or in an article.