ShareThis Page

Sewickley Herald names Man, Woman, Citizen of the Year

| Wednesday, March 26, 2014, 1:03 p.m.

Each year, Sewickley Herald staff members have the difficult task of deciding who to select as our Man, Woman and Citizen of the Year.

As evidenced by the number of nominations we've received, we know there is no shortage of people who do so much for the community and who are deserving of this honor.

Thank you to all who took the time to nominate someone in the community to be considered for our 2013 Man, Woman and Citizen of the Year.

After much consideration, the Herald staff is pleased to announce this year's honorees.

• For his dedication and unwavering support of the Sewickley Valley, Bob Brown has been named the Sewickley Herald 2013 Man of the Year.

Among his contributions to the community are starting the St. James Catholic Church food pantry more than two decades ago. He has been involved with the Society of St. Vincent de Paul, Knights of Columbus, the Union Aid Society and Sweetwater Center for the Arts.

• Carolyn Toth has been selected as the Herald's 2013 Woman of the Year.

In her role as Sewickley Public Library director, she has led the facility to achieving high rank among libraries across the state and helped to broaden the appeal of the library in an ever-changing technologically advanced world.

• The Herald's 2013 Citizen of the Year honor is awarded to the Sewickley Memorial Day Committee.

The committee, made up mostly of local veterans, continues to focus efforts of a weekend full of patriotic events by honoring the men and women who have served and do serve in the nation's armed forces.

Join the Herald staff in recognizing our newest set of honorees at the Edgeworth Club, 511 East Drive, for our annual Sewickley Herald honors dinner on April 25.

The cost is $31.50 per person. Cash bar starts at 6 p.m.; dinner follows at 7 p.m.

The dinner menu will include mixed-green salad with berries, pecans and dressed in raspberry vinaigrette; bread and rolls; chicken piccata; garlic mashed potatoes; green beans and carrots; and for dessert, vanilla cheesecake.

Reservations are required no later than April 18 to photographer/staff writer Kristina Serafini at 412-324-1405 or

Checks can be mailed to Sewickley Herald honors dinner, 504 Beaver St., Sewickley, PA 15143.

Checks should be made payable to Trib Total Media.

TribLIVE commenting policy

You are solely responsible for your comments and by using you agree to our Terms of Service.

We moderate comments. Our goal is to provide substantive commentary for a general readership. By screening submissions, we provide a space where readers can share intelligent and informed commentary that enhances the quality of our news and information.

While most comments will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive, moderating decisions are subjective. We will make them as carefully and consistently as we can. Because of the volume of reader comments, we cannot review individual moderation decisions with readers.

We value thoughtful comments representing a range of views that make their point quickly and politely. We make an effort to protect discussions from repeated comments either by the same reader or different readers

We follow the same standards for taste as the daily newspaper. A few things we won't tolerate: personal attacks, obscenity, vulgarity, profanity (including expletives and letters followed by dashes), commercial promotion, impersonations, incoherence, proselytizing and SHOUTING. Don't include URLs to Web sites.

We do not edit comments. They are either approved or deleted. We reserve the right to edit a comment that is quoted or excerpted in an article. In this case, we may fix spelling and punctuation.

We welcome strong opinions and criticism of our work, but we don't want comments to become bogged down with discussions of our policies and we will moderate accordingly.

We appreciate it when readers and people quoted in articles or blog posts point out errors of fact or emphasis and will investigate all assertions. But these suggestions should be sent via e-mail. To avoid distracting other readers, we won't publish comments that suggest a correction. Instead, corrections will be made in a blog post or in an article.