Veteran councilman elected mayor of Baldwin Borough

| Tuesday, Nov. 5, 2013, 11:36 p.m.

Baldwin Borough Mayor

An 11-year Baldwin Borough Councilman will become the town's next mayor, after a wide-spread win Tuesday night.

Baldwin Council President David Depretis, a Democrat, secured the four-year Baldwin mayoral seat with 58 percent of the votes, beating out former Councilman Ed Moeller, who received 41.59 percent of the vote.

Depretis, who received an endorsement from the Baldwin Borough Democratic Committee, won the Democratic nomination in May. Moeller, a Democrat, won the Republican write-in vote in May to appear on the ballot Tuesday.

Mayor Alexander Bennett is retiring at the end of this year after serving 16 years as Baldwin's lead man.

Baldwin Borough Council

Two Baldwin Borough Council incumbents who failed to secure their party's nomination in the May primary were ousted from their seats Tuesday.

Four-year council members Robert “Bob” Collet and Larry Brown, both Democrats who received enough Republican write-in votes during the May Primary to appear on Tuesday's ballot, failed to get enough votes for reelection.

Winning the four open, four-year seats on Baldwin Borouh Council were all Democrats, including Baldwin-Whitehall School Board member Kevin Fischer, with 21.07 percent of the votes; incumbent John Conley, with 20.68 percent of the votes; incumbent Michael Ducker with 17.31 percent and Francis J. Scott with 16.55 percent.

Collet received 12.26 percent of the vote; Brown received 11.98 percent.

Brentwood Council

Incumbents ruled on Brentwood Council Tuesday, where Democrats Rich Schubert, John Frombach and Elizabeth Ann Schade were reelected to serve a four-year term on borough council.

Newcomer Dean Trent, a Republican, will join them on one of the four open four-year seats for Brentwood Council, receiving 17 percent of the vote.

Schubert received 19.95 percent; Frombach, 16.01 percent and Schade, 15.96 percent of the vote.

They bested Republican candidate Stephanie Fox, who received 15.30 percent of the vote, and Democrat Jayson Livingston, who received 14.55 percent.

Baldwin Township Commissioner

Incumbents Eileen Frisoli and John Michael Paravati won another four-year term on the Baldwin Township board of commissioners Tuesday.

Frisoli, a Democrat and commission president, received 34.48 percent of the vote, while Paravati, a Republican, received 24.44 percent of the vote.

They beat out challengers Cheryl K. Schuler, a Democrat, and John N. Allen, a Republican. Frisoli, who has served on the board of commissioners for more than eight years, ran on a platform that she was seeking to continue a “great working relationship” between township officials, staff members and residents and looking to restore more community events in the one-square-mile town.

Paravati, a four-year commissioner, said he aims to maintain and enhance Baldwin Township.

Baldwin Township Tax Collector

Baldwin Township incumbent tax collector Marilyn Wagner, a Republican, won another term overseeing the tax bills.

She won reelection Tuesday with 72 percent of the votes, topping challenger Anthony Frisoli, a Democrat.

Pleasant Hills Tax Collector

Republican Linda Fancsali will serve as Pleasant Hills' tax collector for the next four years after receiving 59.58 percent of the vote Tuesday. She beat out Democratic candidate Sandra Pikula for the position.

Stephanie Hacke is a staff writer for Trib Total Media. She can be reached at 412-388-5818 or

Subscribe today! Click here for our subscription offers.


Show commenting policy