| Neighborhoods

Larger text Larger text Smaller text Smaller text | Order Photo Reprints

Whitehall Council members rotate roles

Email Newsletters

Sign up for one of our email newsletters.

Committee and Delegate assignments:

•Administrative services committee — William Veith, chairman; Robert McKown and Philip Lahr.

•Library committee — Robert McKown, chairman; Linda Book and Kathy DePuy.

•Planning and zoning committee — Kathy DePuy, chairwoman; Philip Lahr and Ryan Barton.

•Public safety committee — Philip Lahr, chairman; Kathy DePuy and William Veith.

•Public works committee — Linda Book, chairwoman; Robert McKown and Ryan Barton.

•Recreation committee — Ryan Barton, chairman; William Veith and Linda Book.

•Allegheny County Boroughs Association/ALOM – Linda Book, delegate; Kathy DePuy, alternate. •Chamber of Commerce representative – William Veith.

•Economic Development South representatives – Ryan Barton.

•Medical Rescue Team South Authority representatives – Robert McKown and Philip Lahr.

•PA State Association of Boroughs – Kathy Depuy, delegate; Linda Book, alternate.

•South Hills Area Council of Governments – William Veith, delegate; Linda Book, alternate.

•Streets Run Watershed Association representative – Harold Berkoben.

•3 Rivers Wet Weather – Linda Book.

Wednesday, Jan. 15, 2014, 9:00 p.m.

Keeping with tradition, Whitehall leaders rotated the top positions on borough council in an effort to give each official an opportunity to learn about every aspect of the community.

Council members each year rotate the president and vice president seats, as well as committee chair positions — and name each council person to three committees — in an effort for them to gain a better understanding of how each part of the borough works, said newly appointed borough council President Harold Berkoben.

Council members reorganized on Jan. 6. Berkoben said this is his third or fourth time as Whitehall council president during his tenure. Robert McKown was appointed as vice president.

Incumbents Kathy DePuy, a Democrat, and William Veith and Linda Book, both Republicans, along with newly elected Councilman Ryan Barton, also a Republican, all were sworn-in to four-year terms on borough council on Jan. 6. Mayor James Nowalk, a Democrat, also was sworn in to a four-year term.

Barton, 30, won a four-year seat on council in the November election, ousting 17-year incumbent Glenn Nagy.

“I feel so honored to serve the residents of Whitehall, and I will continue to work to make Whitehall the model community for all of Pittsburgh,” Barton said.

Having a rotation of council's top seats and committees helps to maintain a bipartisan approach to governing the borough, Barton said.

“On council there really is only one party and it's the Whitehall party,” he said.

Barton said he ran on a pledge to keep taxes in Whitehall low and create a more business friendly atmosphere in the borough.

The borough previously had adopted Act 77, which provides a senior discount program that allows residents age 60 or older with an income of $30,000 or less to receive a 30 percent discount on their borough real estate taxes.

Barton said he would like to see the limit increased to $36,000 and the discount raised to 33 percent.

As he knocked on doors during his campaign, Barton said, he talked to many senior citizens who were having to choose between paying their real estate taxes and buying food.

Attracting more small businesses also is important, he said. This would help to increase revenues and attract younger families to the area, Barton said.

Stephanie Hacke is a staff writer for Trib Total Media. She can be reached at 412-388-5818 or

Subscribe today! Click here for our subscription offers.




Show commenting policy

Most-Read South Hills

  1. Baldwin residents welcome return of police substation
  2. Baldwin Township to give recycling a try
  3. ‘Hard work’ pays off for Whitehall Elementary’s service project