Two people killed in Route 51 wreck

| Monday, June 8, 2009

North Union

2 people killed

in Route 51 wreck

Two people were killed and one was injured in a crash early Saturday morning on Route 51, just outside of Uniontown.

State police in Uniontown identified the dead as Stephen Lee, 22, the driver, and Tanisha Lynn Walton, 29, a passenger. Addresses for the victims were not available.

According to police, Lee was driving southbound in a 2007 Chevrolet Cobalt around 5:40 a.m., when he lost control of the car and it struck a concrete block off the west side of the roadway, near Oliver Road in North Union.

Raymorrow Frieson, 23, who was hurt in the accident, was taken to Uniontown Hospital, where he was treated and released, a hospital spokeswoman said. Frieson's address was not immediately available.

Lee, who was wearing a seat belt, was pronounced dead at the scene. Walton, who was not wearing a seat belt and who landed outside the vehicle, died in Uniontown Hospital.


Uniontown area

woman killed when

truck strikes tree

A Uniontown area woman was killed in a one-vehicle crash Friday night in Fayette County.

Betty Fazenbaker, 37, was pronounced dead at the scene on Walnut Hill Road, just north of Sumey Road, in German Township.

The accident took place at 11:40 p.m. when a 1979 Ford pickup driven by Lawrence States, 37, of the Uniontown area, struck a tree off the western berm of Walnut Hill Road, police said.

States had been traveling north when he crossed from the eastern side of the roadway, police said.

Fazenbaker, who was not wearing a seat belt, was ejected from the vehicle.

States, who was not wearing a seat belt, suffered minor injuries, state police said.

Police are investigating the cause. Exact addresses for the two occupants were not immediately available.

East Huntingdon

Two businesses


State police at Greensburg are investigating two burglaries in East Huntingdon and Mt. Pleasant townships.

Police said between 8 and 11:30 p.m. Wednesday, someone attempted to gain access to the Country Pie Shop in Mt. Pleasant Township by breaking open a window on the south side of the business. Entry was not gained.

At 2:22 a.m. Thursday, someone gained access to the Save A Lot in East Huntingdon by prying open a garage door located in the rear of the business. Once inside the store, the actor went to the front office and pried open the office door and then removed a cash drawer containing $100 from a locked cabinet.

Police request anyone with any information on either burglary to call 724-832-3288.

New Stanton

Instant E-ZPass sign-up

starts Tuesday

The Pennsylvania Turnpike Commission will offer three days of instant E-ZPass sign-up -- Tuesday through Thursday -- at the mainline toll plaza on the Amos K. Hutchinson Greensburg Bypass (Route 66) in Westmoreland County.

Sign-up teams will be working at the Turnpike 66 location from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m. Signage will direct interested drivers to appropriate parking areas. There is a fee charged for these passes.

Registrants will leave with an E-ZPass tag they can use immediately on the Pennsylvania Turnpike and in 12 other states where the purple and white E-ZPass logo is displayed. To enroll, a registrant must provide a driver's license, license plate number and a major credit card.

The tag is mounted on the windshield and sends a signal to an overhead reader in the toll lane. Devices interact to classify vehicles and deduct appropriate fares from prepaid accounts while drivers keep moving. Transponders can be moved between vehicles.

Vehicle owners can enroll through the Turnpike's Web site at, by calling toll free at 877-736-6727, by visiting any American Automobile Association office in the region, or by obtaining E-ZPass "GoPaks" at participating Giant Eagle and GetGo stores.


Municipal meetings

scheduled this week

Municipal meetings being held this week include:


• South Connellsville Borough Council, 7:30 p.m., borough building

• Dawson Borough Council, 7 p.m., borough building

• Connellsville Area School Board, 8 p.m., high school cafeteria

• Scottdale Borough Council, 6:30 p.m., borough building


• North Union Township Supervisors, 3:30 p.m., township building

• Connellsville Municipal Authority, 7 p.m., authority offices

• Saltlick Township Supervisors, 3:30 p.m., township building

• Upper Tyrone Township Supervisors, 6:30 p.m., township building


• Lower Tyrone Township Supervisors, 6:30 p.m., Brownfield Community Center

• Perryopolis Borough Council, 7:30 p.m., borough building


• Connellsville Township Supervisors, 7 p.m., Connellsville Township Volunteer Fire Hall

• Connellsville City Council, 7 p.m., city hall

• Connellsville Redevelopment Authority, 9:30 a.m., authority offices

• East Huntingdon Township Supervisors, 3:15 p.m., township building

• Connellsville Area School Board, 7 p.m., high school cafeteria

Subscribe today! Click here for our subscription offers.


Show commenting policy