| News

Larger text Larger text Smaller text Smaller text | Order Photo Reprints story

About The Tribune-Review
The Tribune-Review can be reached via e-mail or at 412-321-6460.
Contact Us | Video | Photo Reprints

Daily Photo Galleries

By The Tribune-Review

Published: Wednesday, June 27, 2012, 9:08 p.m.

Indiana University of Pennsylvania computer science major Courtney Wirtz finished third at the Northeastern United States Chinese Proficiency Competition for Foreign College Students. She is a daughter of Jan Wirtz and Carl H. Wirtz Jr. and a 2008 graduate of West Mifflin Area High School.

At Festival Disney, the North Allegheny Marching Band, in parade adjudication, received the Outstanding Percussion Award, a Disney Silver Award, a Superior Rating and was named Best Overall Marching Band. These North Allegheny School District auxiliary units received recognition: Indoor drum line, Disney Gold Award and Superior Rating; dance team, Disney Gold Award and Superior Rating; color guard, Best in Class Award; and Jazz Ensemble 1, Disney Silver Award and Superior Rating.

The North Allegheny Senior High School Forensics Team finished in second place in the Pennsylvania High School Speech League's state tournament. Students winning individual honors were: Senior Abhi Mehra, second place in extemporaneous speaking; juniors Katherine Zhou and Lily Zhang, second place in duo interpretation; freshman Catherine Zhang, third place in humorous interpretation; juniors Stephanie Metzger and Jenna Marinstein, semifinalists in public forum debate; junior Morgan Lennon, semifinalist in Lincoln Douglas debate; and freshmen Ann Sippel, Natalie Morrissey and Marisa DelSignore, semifinalists in parliamentary debate.

Bethel Park High School graduating senior Alex Drozd and Moniteau High School student Demitrius Nassy each received a Naval Reserve Officers Training Corps Marine Corps Option scholarship worth approximately $180,000.

At Youngstown State University's honors convocation, Aubrey Garland of Bethel Park received the Ohio Space Grant Consortium Scholarship, and Kaitlyn Lucas of Charleroi received the Dr. James A. Reeder Graduate Scholarship.

A team of students from Ingomar Middle School competed in the U.S. Department of Energy's National Science Bowl. Team members: Andrew Fong, John Acierno, Gunasheil Mandava, Isak Liden and Robert Kasper. Their coach is Richard Gebrosky.



Show commenting policy

Most-Read News

Subscribe today! Click here for our subscription offers.