Waynesburg University trustees name new president

| Tuesday, Oct. 2, 2012, 9:36 a.m.

The Waynesburg University trustees have named Douglas Lee to replace Timothy Thyreen as president next year.

Lee is currently the university's executive vice president. He'll replace Thyreen on July 1, 2013, at which point Thyreen will become chancellor of the private, Presbyterian-founded school.

Thyreen has been president since 1990 and under his leadership the school increased its academic majors from 30 to 80, doubled its enrollment, and changed its status from a college to a university, with master's and doctoral programs.

The school currently has about 2,500 students, including 1,500 undergrads and 1,000 graduate and professional adult students.

The university also constructed 12 new buildings, increased its endowment 900 percent, and raised faculty pay from the lowest to the highest among schools in the Presidents' Athletic Conference.

Subscribe today! Click here for our subscription offers.


Show commenting policy