Pyle defeats Bowman

| Wednesday, Nov. 7, 2012, 2:36 a.m.

State Rep. Jeff Pyle of Ford City, facing opposition for re-election in the 60th Legislative District for the second straight election from Democrat Jo Ellen Bowman of Kiski Township, won easily Tuesday by overwhelming the challenger by a nearly 2-1 margin.

Pyle bested Bowman by about those same numbers in getting 68 percent of the vote two years ago.

The race was more about the day-to-day work being done for the 60th District, which includes parts of Armstrong and Indiana counties, than it was about its issues, according to Pyle.

“I ran my campaign on service,” said Pyle. “We are anywhere, anytime, anyplace. We don't ask if you're a Republican or a Democrat. We just ask what the problem is.”

“I respect that she (Bowman) is very accomplished in her field,” he added. “I just feel that for this position, I'm the better candidate.”

By the unofficial tally, Pyle received 65 percent of the vote to 35 percent for Bowman.

Pyle's unofficial winning tally in the district totaled 15,661 votes to Bowman's 8,469 votes.

In Armstrong County with all of the precincts counted, Pyle received 11,146 votes, 64 percent, to 6,325 votes, 36 percent, for Bowman, according to unofficial returns.

Indiana County's unofficial vote results with all precincts reported had Pyle receiving a total of 4,515 votes to 2,144 votes for Bowman.

“I believe national politics shaped the race,” said Bowman. “And, the people have spoken in the district about what they wanted. They (voters) did what they thought in their heart.”

“I think it's critical that we have integrity in state government and I'm going to continue to push and do what I do by continuing to work hard for the families in Armstrong and Indiana counties. I think I gave voters honesty, integrity and hard work. I'm not a lifetime politician. I don't think that's what we need.”

The 60th Legislative District includes the Armstrong County boroughs of Apollo, Applewold, Ford City, Ford Cliff, Freeport, Kittanning, Manorville, North Apollo, West Kittanning and Worthington and the townships of Burrell, East Franklin, Kiski, Kittanning, Manor, North Buffalo, Rayburn, South Bend, South Buffalo, Valley and West Franklin and in Indiana County, the boroughs of Creekside, Ernest and Shelocta and the townships of Armstrong, Brush Valley, Cherryhill, Green, Rayne and Washington.

Mitch Fryer is a staff writer for Trib Total Media. He can be reached at 724-543-1303 or

Subscribe today! Click here for our subscription offers.


Show commenting policy