25 percent of Amrstrong voters go to polls

| Wednesday, May 22, 2013, 2:31 a.m.

Although the official tally is still about a week away, ballot returns from Tuesday's primary election indicate there may be some big changes in store for municipalities this fall.

Around 25 percent of the county's 40,854 voters hit the polls yesterday to decide who will continue on for the win in November's election.

Library question:

Voters in Worthington and West Franklin voted rejected a 1-mill tax hike to support the Worthington-West Franklin Community Library.

In West Franklin 73.42 percent of voters selected no on their ballots. In Worthington the no vote was cast by 69.12 percent of voters.

Liquor question:

In Wayne the majority of voters (60.56 percent) said yes to the granting of liquor licences for privately-owned public golf course for the sale of liquor by White Oak Farms, Dayton.

Mayoral races


Incumbent Mayor Kirk Atwood garnered more than 70 percent of the Republican vote (231 votes), beating challenger George Schreckengost's 49 votes.

Sandra Lee Bauer moved took first place among the three other Democratic candidates winning 30.43 percent of the votes or 84.

“Maybe Kittanning Borough is ready for a woman,” said Bauer, after the final returns came in.

“I want to be the first lady of Kittanning Borough,” she said. “This is the right time.”

Robert Fox came in at a close second with a little over 24 percent or 67 votes.

Michael Johns received around 15 percent (42 votes) and Thomas Ondo got close to 7.5 percent (21 votes).

Write-in votes totaled 22.5 percent (62) and no official word was available Tuesday night on the break down of that number.

West Kittanning:

James W. Sobiski won over long-time Mayor Bernie C. Bowser Jr. for the Republican nomination. Sobiski received 44.26 percent of the vote over Bowser's 36.07 percent, or 81 to 66 votes.

Sobiski, who is a lifelong resident of the borough and who used mailed advertising in his campaign, said he hopes to revisit past discussions about partnering with Kittanning Borough for police protection.

As a former council member and borough employee he said he plans to use a common-sense approach if elected in the fall and has raised questions under the “right-to-know” law about council expenses.

As the only mayoral candidate running on the Democratic ballot, Michael Holly collected 53 votes. There were 35 write-ins.

Kittanning Council

1st Ward:

David Croyle beat out Councilman Michael Rosenberger on the Republican ticket for both the 2-year and 4-year terms. Out of a total of 44 votes, Croyle won 27 votes (61.36 percent) for the 4-year term and won 28 votes out of 42 (66.67 percent) for the 2-year term.

Councilwoman Betsy Wilt, who was the only Democratic candidate received 33 of the 45 votes (70.21 percent) for the 4-year term and 34 out of 45 votes (75.56 percent) for the 2-year term.

2nd Ward:

Just one vote stands between Council President Chris Schiano and write-in votes for the Republican nomination. Schiano garnered 31 votes (50.82 percent) out of a total of 61 votes. Thirty votes (49.18 percent) are write-in votes.

Fomer councilman Randy Cloak had launched a write-in campaign in the weeks leading up to the election. It was not known as of Tuesday night what votes were for him.

3rd Ward:

Councilman Ange Turco collected 119 of the 127 votes (93.70 percent) in his unopposed bid for the Republican nomination.

4th Ward:

Councilman Andy Peters bested George Schreckengost for the Republican nomination taking 86.2 percent or 69 votes to Schreckengost's 10 votes.

Lisa Schreckengost, who was the only candidate on the Democratic ballot, collected 30 votes or 46.15 percent. There were 35 write-in votes.

Ford City

2nd Ward:

Council President Lou Vergari won the Democratic nomination over Joshua Abernathy with 102 (36.17 percent). Abernathy received 77 votes (27.30 percent).

Write-in votes totaled 103 (36.52 percent).

Scott A. Gaiser collected 75 of the 167 votes (44.91 percent) in his bid for the Republican nomination.

However, 92 votes (55.09 percent) were write-in votes. No information was available Tuesday night concerning the break down of that number.


Democratic candidate Mayor Marc Mantini, who ran unopposed, collected 239 of the 276 votes (86.59 percent). The rest were write-ins.

Brigid Beatty is a staff writer for Trib Total Media. She can be reached at 724-543-1303 or bbeatty@tribweb.com.

Subscribe today! Click here for our subscription offers.


Show commenting policy