| News

Larger text Larger text Smaller text Smaller text | Order Photo Reprints

Seneca Valley earns AP success

Email Newsletters

Sign up for one of our email newsletters.
Saturday, Oct. 19, 2013, 9:00 p.m.

Forty-one students at Seneca Valley High School earned Advance Placement Scholar Awards for their performance on the 2013 AP Exams, a record number for the district.

It's a significant increase from 2012, when 27 Seneca Valley students earned the distinction, according to the district.

About 22 percent of the 2.2 million students worldwide who took the AP Exams earned the scholar award in 2013. AP Exams, given in various subject areas, are scored on a scale from 1 to 5, with 5 being best.

The College Board recognizes several levels of achievement based on students' performances on the AP Exams.

One student, 2013 graduate Katharine Miller, qualified for the National AP Scholar Award by earning a 5 on all eight exams she took last year.

AP Scholar with Distinction Awards went to 14 Seneca Valley students who scored an average 3.5 on all AP Exams taken and a 3 or higher on five or more. Those students, all 2013 graduates, are: Zachary Bredl, Rosemary Emmerling, Gabrielle English, Kyle Gallagher, Joseph Geyer, Dhruv Kohli, John Kooser, James Laporte, Katharine Miller, Mayank Parashar, Kristen Rossi, Jennifer Rowekamp, Jacob Shearer and Joshua Zahren.

AP Scholar with Honor Awards went to eight Seneca Valley students who scored an average of at least 3.25 on all AP Exams taken and 3 or higher on four or more. Those students are 2013 graduates Phillip Anderson, Brennan Bench, Todd Kowalski, Brandon McCormick, Alexa Reynolds and Brandon White and seniors Daniel Eppler and Robert Kunkel.

AP Scholar Awards went to 19 students who completed three or more AP Exams with scores of 3 or higher. Those students are 2013 graduates Anthony Acquaviva, Sean Bollman, Alexis Brockway, Nathaniel Kosinski, Maria Kowalski, Elizabeth Moser, Dana Palumbo, Hayeon Park, Samantha Runser, Jonathan Selling and Emma Wallace and seniors Taha Ahmed, Joshua Baktay, Jessica Howard, Jeremiah Scanlan, Derek Shank, Alexandra Steighner, Jenna Stengel and Alexander Taylor.

Rachel Farkas is a staff writer for Trib Total Media. She can be reached at 724-779-6902 or

Subscribe today! Click here for our subscription offers.




Show commenting policy

Most-Read Stories

  1. Steelers kicker Boswell puts best foot forward
  2. Steelers veteran linebacker Harrison focused on stretch run
  3. Steelers notebook: Tomlin ends practice with third-down work
  4. Crosby scores twice, Malkin delivers OT goal as Penguins beat Blues
  5. Pet chiropractic more popular in Western Pa., but doubts linger
  6. Friends, family, history lure natives back to Western Pennsylvania
  7. Security policies limit ‘insider threat’ at airports, TSA says
  8. Steelers notebook: Tomlin not grooming successor to RB Williams
  9. House fire displaces family of 6 in Somerset County
  10. Penguins co-owner Lemieux snuffs rumored rift with Crosby
  11. Online sales, promotions give Pittsburgh-area stores global reach