| News

Larger text Larger text Smaller text Smaller text | Order Photo Reprints

4 Fayette County positions at stake in primary

Monday, May 20, 2013, 12:01 a.m.

Four positions at the county level are at stake in Tuesday's primary election in Fayette County.

Voters will nominate two candidates for judge and two for the row offices of prothonotary and treasurer.

Five attorneys are seeking the Democratic and Republican nominations for judge. Two 10-year spots on the bench are open because Ralph Warman and Gerald Solomon retired to become part-time senior judges.

The judicial candidates are Democrats Doug Sepic, 45; Jack Purcell, 55; Joseph George Jr., 42; and Linda Cordaro, 52; and one Republican, Steven Walton, 47.

All of the judical candidates are cross-filed.

Two of the candidates, Cordaro and Sepic, are assistant district attorneys. George is a district justice in South Union. Purcell is a partner with a Uniontown law firm and Walton is an attorney with a Pittsburgh law firm.

Four candidates are seeking the Democratic nomination for a prothonotary. A two-year term is open because the incumbent, Lance Winterhalter, quit in the middle of his four-year term.

The Democratic candidates are Nina Capuzzi Frankhouser, 50, of South Union; Pamela Hudson, 56, of North Union; Robert “Ted” Pritchard, 61, of Fairchance; and Paul Shipley, 29, of North Union.

Frankhouser works in the county's recorder of deeds office. Hudson owns a catering business and is an elected jury commissioner. Shipley is an Army veteran of the Iraq and Afghanistan wars who works as a CSX freight conductor.

Pritchard, who at one time operated a pest control business, has spent much of the campaign attempting to have the other candidates' names removed from the ballot. He tried unsuccessfully to have the courts declare the other candidates' nominating petitions invalid for various reasons.

There are no Republican candidates for prothonotary.

Eight candidates are seeking the Democratic nomination for a four-year term as treasurer. The incumbent, Robert Danko, is retiring when his term ends in December.

The eight candidates are Mike Zimcosky of Smock; Nancy Lee Wilson of Uniontown; Larry Russman of North Union; Lawrence Roberts of South Union; Thomas Pearson III of North Union; Beth Kerns Patton of Bullskin; Melvin E. Lerch Jr. of Franklin; and Brad W. Geyer of Connellsville.

Zimcosky, 45, is an auditor with the county. Wilson, 64, works in the treasurer's office. Russman, 51, is a small-business owner. Roberts, 71, is a self-employed arbitrator and a retired state legislator. Pearson, 61, is a bail bondsman. Kerns, 43, works in the county's tax assessment office. Lerch, 59, is a Franklin supervisor, and Geyer, 31, is a Connellsville councilman.

As with the prothonotary, there are no candidates seeking the Republican nomination.

Liz Zemba is a staff writer for Trib Total Media. She can be reached at 412-601-2166 or




Show commenting policy

Most-Read Fayette

  1. Connellsville Area High School Chamber Ensemble awaiting word on sing-off
  2. Uniontown man charged with raping 2 girls
  3. Uniontown programs get $900K
  4. Chief: Perryopolis police officer’s death highlights dangers of job
  5. Governor signs death warrant for convicted Fayette killer
  6. ArtWorks Connellsville hires gallery manager
  7. Connellsville man ready to cash in on discovery coin
  8. Connellsville Area High School Patriots participate in Wreaths Across America
  9. Lynn: Hunters can share their deer with food banks
  10. Stanley Cup coming to Ice Mine in Dunbar Township
  11. Perryopolis police officer dies in Route 51 crash
Subscribe today! Click here for our subscription offers.