ShareThis Page

Marcellus shale impact dollars on the rise in local communities

| Friday, June 13, 2014, 12:31 p.m.

Act 13 Marcellus Shale Impact Fee disbursements for 2013 are up across the board for local municipalities compared to figures from 2012, based on reports released by the Pennsylvania Public Utilities Commission earlier this month.

As of April 4, the state had collected from natural gas producers $223,312,600 of the $223,483,600 due for 2013. Producers paid a total of $202,472,000 in impact fees for 2012. Impact fee revenues are awarded to counties and municipalities based on the number of eligible natural gas wells inside and within five miles of their borders, as well as the municipality's population and highway miles.

Act 13 revenue may be used for public infrastructure improvements, emergency preparedness, public safety, environmental programs including parks and trails, preservation and reclamation of surface and subsurface waters, tax reductions including homestead exclusions, affordable housing programs, records management, information technology, the delivery of social services, judicial services, deposits to capital reserve funds to be used for Act 13 purposes, career and technical centers for training workers in the oil and gas industry and local or regional planning initiatives.

Payments are due to state agencies and county and municipal governments by July 1, according to the PPUC website.

Chesapeake Appalachia, LLC and Range Resources Appalachia, LLC paid the most in impact fees for 2013: $26,727,950 and $27,992,000.

Chesapeake was operating 743 horizontal wells and three vertical wells during the 2012 reporting year, in which it paid $27,386,000, according to PPUC records. Range Resources operated 637 horizontal and nine vertical wells that year and paid $24,826,000. Figures for 2013 are not yet available from the PPUC.

Indiana County will receive $259,752.25 in impact fees and $84,536.19 in Marcellus Shale Legacy Fund disbursements, for a total of $344,288.44. Last year, the county was awarded $217,524.32 in impact fees and $74,777.82 in Legacy Fund money.

Center Township, which had received $48,515.52 for 2012, will bring in $62,805.96 for 2013 – the highest payout of any municipality in Indiana County this year.

Blairsville Borough's allotment increased from $4,197.56 for 2012 to $5,068.32 for 2013.

Westmoreland County will be awarded $1,357,205.54 in impact fees and $348,228.56 in Marcellus Shale Legacy Fund disbursements. Derry Township will receive $428,321.83 in impact fees, the most of any municipality in Westmoreland County.

Below is a list of municipalities in The Dispatch coverage region and their corresponding impact fee disbursements:

Indiana County

Armagh Borough, $177.63; Black Lick Township, $3,606.49; Blairsville Borough, $5,068.32; Brush Valley Township, $32,753.37; Buffington Township, $17,047.17; Burrell Township, $8,656.37; Center Township, $62,805.96; Conemaugh Township, $6,713.88; East Wheatfield Township, $5,026.14; Homer City Borough, $2,582.58; Indiana Borough, $18,470.91; Saltsburg Borough, $1,290.83; West Wheatfield Township, $18,986.83; White Township, $31,405.08; Young Township, $52,311.90.

Westmoreland County

Bolivar Borough, $1,425.75; Derry Borough, $6,659.21; Derry Township, $428,321.83; Fairfield Township, $81,269.90; Loyalhanna Township, $21,984.08; New Alexandria Borough, $1,536.56; New Florence Borough, $2,520.28; Salem Township, $62,094.18; Seward Borough, $1,547.53; St. Clair Township, $19,406.40.

Greg Reinbold is a staff writer for Trib Total Media. He can be reached at 724-459-6100, ext. 2913 or

TribLIVE commenting policy

You are solely responsible for your comments and by using you agree to our Terms of Service.

We moderate comments. Our goal is to provide substantive commentary for a general readership. By screening submissions, we provide a space where readers can share intelligent and informed commentary that enhances the quality of our news and information.

While most comments will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive, moderating decisions are subjective. We will make them as carefully and consistently as we can. Because of the volume of reader comments, we cannot review individual moderation decisions with readers.

We value thoughtful comments representing a range of views that make their point quickly and politely. We make an effort to protect discussions from repeated comments either by the same reader or different readers

We follow the same standards for taste as the daily newspaper. A few things we won't tolerate: personal attacks, obscenity, vulgarity, profanity (including expletives and letters followed by dashes), commercial promotion, impersonations, incoherence, proselytizing and SHOUTING. Don't include URLs to Web sites.

We do not edit comments. They are either approved or deleted. We reserve the right to edit a comment that is quoted or excerpted in an article. In this case, we may fix spelling and punctuation.

We welcome strong opinions and criticism of our work, but we don't want comments to become bogged down with discussions of our policies and we will moderate accordingly.

We appreciate it when readers and people quoted in articles or blog posts point out errors of fact or emphasis and will investigate all assertions. But these suggestions should be sent via e-mail. To avoid distracting other readers, we won't publish comments that suggest a correction. Instead, corrections will be made in a blog post or in an article.