WoO Late Models dominating local scene

| Friday, June 24, 2011

The World of Outlaws Late Models series is dominating the local racing scene this weekend with one of the top events in the nation.

The WoO Sprint Cars started at Lernerville in 1979, but the Late Models are more recent to the scene.

Chub Frank won the first WoO Late Model race April 23, 2004, at Lernerville. Dale McDowell won the summer race in 2004. For the next five seasons, the track hosted a spring and a summer race. Frank won the summer race in 2005, his last WoO win at the track.

Last season was the first for the three-day Firecracker format, and it was well received. Josh Richards, Timmy McCreadie and Shane Clanton won the three features in 2010. Clanton's victory was in the Firecracker's main event.

Richards, Frank, Billy Moyer, and McCreadie lead with two career WoO Late Model victories each at the track. Other Lernerville winners include Clanton, Jimmy Mars, Brian Birkhofer, Shannon Babb, Scott Bloomquist, Rick Eckert and McDowell.

One driver who is overdue for a World of Outlaws Late Model victory is Darrell Lanigan, who on April 29, 2005, set the track's Late Model record with a time of 15.072 seconds. Lanigan has three straight second-place finishes in the Firecracker 100.

Lanigan's record was surpassed Apirl 29 during the All Star Late Model race when Tim Dohm recorded a time of 14.922 seconds in the first heat. But because it was not in a qualifying session, it did not count as a new record. During qualifying that night Dohm was the fastest qualifier with a time of 15.311 seconds.

Mercer Raceway Park double-header weekend

Mercer Raceway Park has a big weekend planned for Friday and Saturday night. Tonight, six different classes of trucks and tractors will display awesome pulling power. The list includes modified pickups to full-sized semis.

Gates open at 4 p.m. Friday and the first pulling will begin at 7 p.m. Adult tickets are $10, or $25 for a family with up to four children.

On Saturday, the BRP Modified Tour will battle Mercer's weekly 358 Modifieds. The 410 Sprints also are on the card. The finale is a 100-lap enduro. Tickets are $15 for adults, $13 for seniors, students 9-15 are $7 and kids 8-and-under are free. Family tickets are $30 for a family of up to four children and pit admission is $25.

Rex King Sr. leads the championship race by one point over Brian Swartzlander, 111-110. Kevin Bolland is third with 108, Dave Murdick is fourth with 104 and Kevin Hoffman and Rex King Jr. are tied for fifth, with 97 points.

The next races on the BRP schedule are Sunday at Expo Speedway and July 3 at Tri-City Speedway.

Ohio Sprint Speedweek

Friday and Saturday close out the final two nights of the annual All Star Sprint Cars Ohio Sprint Speedweek. Tonight's race at Limaland Motorsports Park is a $5,000 to win show and then the finale at Fremont Speedway, is a $10,000 to win show Saturday.

Sprints at PPMS

The 410 Outlaws Winged Super Sprints highlight the show Sunday at Pittsburgh's Pennsylvania Motor Speedway. The 21-lap feature will pay $2,100 to win in what is billed as the "Flight of the Phoenix".

The Super Sprints are not all that will be featured Sunday. The Super Late Models, Pro-Lates, E-Mods, Cadets, Hobby Stocks and Young Guns are also on the schedule. The track held two Sprint Car races in 2010 and Danny Holtgraver won both features.

Subscribe today! Click here for our subscription offers.


Show commenting policy