ShareThis Page

Area wrestlers continue strong seasons

| Tuesday, March 5, 2002

Dan Butler (110) led several Connellsville Junior High East wrestlers at the Rockwood Tournament, racking up a win. Eric McGinnis (115) and Chase Hitlan (85) each tallied seconds, while Andrew Snyder (100) and Josh Brewer (185) each got a third.

Burrell Tournament

Steve Blackburn (115) picked up a second.

Franklin Regional Tournament

Eric McGinnis (122) represented East, garnering a third at the tournament, while West wrestler Lee Newcomer (110) snagged a second.

Mapletown Tournament

Mat Allison (125) was East's sole placewinner at the tournament, earning third in the 13- to 15-year-old age group.

East Fairmont Tournament

Josiah Knopsnider (75) took top honors in the 11- and 12-year-old division, while Andrew Snyder (100) and Steve Blackburn (120) each nabbed seconds. Dan Butler (110) came in third.

In the 13- to 15-year-old division, Eric McGinnis (120) and Josh Brewer (180) each snagged a second, with Andrew Snyder (102) and Josh Brewer (hwt.) taking thirds. Mat Allison (128) was fourth.

East has compiled an 11-3 mark on the season.

C'ville Elementary Wrestlers

The Connellsville elementary wrestlers picked up a number of team trophies this season, winning at Southern Mat Club and grabbing thirds at the Carmichaels, Mount Pleasant and Latrobe tournaments. Recently, Connellsville won three of four dual matches.

C'ville 46, S'moreland 18

Ryan Williams (60), Jake Swink (64), Jesse Swink (69), Tyler Lilley (75) and Jeremiah Bossart (100) each earned a fall as Connellsville defeated Southmoreland. Jared Dolde (105) racked up a major decision, while Tyler Steele (53), Lonnie Trump (80), Kody Pujia (85) and Nathan Gaffney (130) all picked up decisions.

C'ville 53, North Star 21

Tyler Lilley (75), Lonnie Trump (80), Colton Hitlan (90), Jeremiah Bossart (100) and Jared Dolde (105) scored pins for Connellsville. Ryan Williams (60) got a technical fall, while Tanner Wiltrout (56)and Jesse Swink (69) earned decisions. Alex Porter (115) and Nathan Gaffney (130) won by forfeit.

C'ville 46, Norwin 31

Jake Swink (64), Tyler Lilley (75), Kody Pujia (85) and Alex Porter (115) each recorded a fall for Connellsville, with Ryan Williams (56) getting a major decision and Colton Hitlan (90) notching a decision. Lonnie Trump (80) and Nathan Gaffney (130) won by forfeit.

Latrobe 40, C'ville 23

Ryan Williams (56) earned a pin, while Jeremiah Bossart (90) and Alex Porter (105) scored major decisions in a losing effort. Jesse Swink (69), Kody Pujia (80) and Jared Dolde (100) won decisions.

C'ville Junior Olmpic Wrestlers

Colton Hitlan (85) took first in the 9- and 10-year-old division at the Derry Open Tournament, and fellow Connellsville Junior Olympic wrestlers Jesse Swink (65) and Nathan Gaffney (120) finished second in that bracket. Tyler Lilley (75) picked up a third.

Jeremiah Bossart (90) notched a win in the 11- and 12-year-old group, and Jake Swink (65) finished fourth.

North Star Open Tournament

Ethan Saylor (80) snagged a second among 9- and 10-year-olds, while Colton Hitlan (85) placed third in that division.

Jake Swink (70) earned second in the 11- and 12-year-old bracket.

Carmichaels Open Tournament

Ryan Williams, Bobby Myers, A.J. Keslar and Tanner Wiltrout wrestled a double bracket for Connellsville. Myers (90/95) got two thirds in the 9- and 10-year-old division, and Williams (55/60) picked up a pair of fourths. Keslar (95/unlimited) nabbed a second and a fourth. Wiltrout (55) won a third in the 9- and 10-year-old group and grabbed a fourth in the 7- and 8-year-old bracket.

Zach Ardabell (45) placed second in the 7- and 8-year-old bracket, and Tyler Steele (50) was second in the 6 and Under group.

Mapletown Novice Tournament

Dan Butler (110) took top honors in the 11- and 12-year-old age bracket, and Bobby Myers (90) earned the same place among 9- and 10-year-olds.

Tyler Steele (50) was tops in the 6 and Under group, and Dru Barr (unlimited) was fourth.

Zach Ardabell (45) notched a second in the 7- and 8-year-old division, with Tanner Wiltrout (55) taking third.

Fayette County Qualifiers will be held on Wednesday.

TribLIVE commenting policy

You are solely responsible for your comments and by using you agree to our Terms of Service.

We moderate comments. Our goal is to provide substantive commentary for a general readership. By screening submissions, we provide a space where readers can share intelligent and informed commentary that enhances the quality of our news and information.

While most comments will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive, moderating decisions are subjective. We will make them as carefully and consistently as we can. Because of the volume of reader comments, we cannot review individual moderation decisions with readers.

We value thoughtful comments representing a range of views that make their point quickly and politely. We make an effort to protect discussions from repeated comments either by the same reader or different readers

We follow the same standards for taste as the daily newspaper. A few things we won't tolerate: personal attacks, obscenity, vulgarity, profanity (including expletives and letters followed by dashes), commercial promotion, impersonations, incoherence, proselytizing and SHOUTING. Don't include URLs to Web sites.

We do not edit comments. They are either approved or deleted. We reserve the right to edit a comment that is quoted or excerpted in an article. In this case, we may fix spelling and punctuation.

We welcome strong opinions and criticism of our work, but we don't want comments to become bogged down with discussions of our policies and we will moderate accordingly.

We appreciate it when readers and people quoted in articles or blog posts point out errors of fact or emphasis and will investigate all assertions. But these suggestions should be sent via e-mail. To avoid distracting other readers, we won't publish comments that suggest a correction. Instead, corrections will be made in a blog post or in an article.