ShareThis Page

District college notes: Seton Hill football players honored

| Thursday, Nov. 22, 2012, 8:51 p.m.

Six Seton Hill University football players were honored by the West Virginia Intercollegiate Athletic Conference with postseason awards, led by three first-team selections: sophomore linebacker Tyler Zimmer, senior wide receiver DJ Carter and sophomore wide receiver Niko Hall-Brown.

Junior quarterback Andrew Jackson was named to the honorable mention list, and freshman defensive back Josh Falatovich — a Greensburg Salem High School product — and freshman linebacker Xavier Perez-Coley received special honorable mention status.

Zimmer led Seton Hill with school records of 121 tackles, 29 tackles for loss and 12 sacks. He also led the WVIAC in tackles for loss and ranked sixth in NCAA Division II.

Carter and Hall were 1-2 in receptions and receiving yards for Seton Hill, with Carter's school-record 84 catches leading the league and 954 yards receiving ranking second. Hall logged 69 receptions for a school-record 1,009 yards.

Cross country

Jon Bogert closed out his senior season at Seton Hill University with an appearance at the NCAA Division II National Championship on Saturday in Joplin, Mo. He finished the 10K course in 32 minutes, 0.4 seconds after becoming the first Griffins runner to qualify the national event with a ninth-place finish at the Atlantic regional race at Lock Haven.


Seton Hill sophomore forward Joe Tchimou has earned a spot on the all-West Virginia Intercollegiate Athletic Conference first team after leading the Griffins in goals with six, including a game-winner in a 2-1 victory over Concord on Oct. 13.

Three other Seton Hill men's players and six from the women's squad were all-WVIAC.

Senior defender Paul Cornelius was named to the men's second team, and junior defender Kevin Behar and freshman defender Harry Jawanda were honorable mention.

Junior forward Katelyn Wiater and senior midfielder Alysha Alaimo were named to the women's second team. Junior forward Madison Gourley; junior midfielder Jessica Adams, from Penn-Trafford High School; junior defender Kara Lopoyda; and sophomore defender Erika Wisniewski, from Southmoreland, were named honorable mention.

Wiater's six goals and 15 points tied for seventh best in the WVIAC. Wiater and Gourley led Seton Hill with six goals apiece.

A trio of UPG men's players were named to the all-AMCC second team. Sophomores Robert Smith, a midfielder, and Jeremy Niemiec, a defender — both from Southmoreland High School — and freshman forward Craig Hixon were second-team selections. Southmoreland graduate Alex Leonard, a sophomore forward, earned third-team honors.

Earning third-team honors on the women's side for UPG was senior defender Jenna Biddle, a Belle Vernon graduate.


Hempfield High School senior righthander Hope Pherson has signed a letter of intent to attend Seton Hill University. Pherson helped lead the Hempfield softball team to the WPIAL Class AAAA championship game and a spot in the PIAA playoffs in 2012.


No. 1 singles player Maria Iovino, who was undefeated in eight conference matches for the Pitt-Greensburg, has been named women's tennis player of the year in the Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference.

Iovino, a Penn-Trafford High School graduate, also posted a 6-2 record as a doubles partner with teammate Cayla Ray, earning her first-team all-conference honors and helping UPG reach the AMCC tournament.


UPG junior outside hitter/right side hitter Jaime Barkman and freshman right side hitter/defensive specialist Nika Simonson were named third team all-AMCC.

TribLIVE commenting policy

You are solely responsible for your comments and by using you agree to our Terms of Service.

We moderate comments. Our goal is to provide substantive commentary for a general readership. By screening submissions, we provide a space where readers can share intelligent and informed commentary that enhances the quality of our news and information.

While most comments will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive, moderating decisions are subjective. We will make them as carefully and consistently as we can. Because of the volume of reader comments, we cannot review individual moderation decisions with readers.

We value thoughtful comments representing a range of views that make their point quickly and politely. We make an effort to protect discussions from repeated comments either by the same reader or different readers

We follow the same standards for taste as the daily newspaper. A few things we won't tolerate: personal attacks, obscenity, vulgarity, profanity (including expletives and letters followed by dashes), commercial promotion, impersonations, incoherence, proselytizing and SHOUTING. Don't include URLs to Web sites.

We do not edit comments. They are either approved or deleted. We reserve the right to edit a comment that is quoted or excerpted in an article. In this case, we may fix spelling and punctuation.

We welcome strong opinions and criticism of our work, but we don't want comments to become bogged down with discussions of our policies and we will moderate accordingly.

We appreciate it when readers and people quoted in articles or blog posts point out errors of fact or emphasis and will investigate all assertions. But these suggestions should be sent via e-mail. To avoid distracting other readers, we won't publish comments that suggest a correction. Instead, corrections will be made in a blog post or in an article.