Cal U third in Dixon standings

| Thursday, Nov. 29, 2012, 12:01 a.m.

LOCK HAVEN – In the first edition of the 2012-13 PSAC Dixon Trophy standings, Cal U ranks third among the 16 league schools.

Beginning this season, the league adopted a new scoring format to calculate the Dixon Trophy standings, based on an average score for every PSAC championship sport that an institution sponsors. The point values for each sport will remain the same with 16 points awarded to each conference champion and descending point values for respective placement. In previous years only an institution's top 12 finishes (six men's, six women's) were used to calculate a point total.

The Vulcans averaged 11.19 points through the fall season, including a league-high 13.00 points in women's sports. Women's golf earned 16 points after winning the league title in October, while women's soccer (15), volleyball (13), men's golf (12) and football (10.5) each received double-digit points.

In women's golf, Cal U captured its fourth championship in the last five years. The Vulcans advanced to the PSAC championship in women's soccer for the third straight year and the volleyball team advanced to the semifinals of the PSAC Tournament. The women's cross country team rounded out the women's fall sports with eight points.

The men's golf team placed second at the PSAC Championship for the second time in the last four years to lead the men's sports with 12 points. The football team posted 10.5 points after tying for third in the PSAC West, while the men's cross country team totaled eight points. The men's soccer team rounded out the men's sports with seven points after making a second straight appearance in the PSAC Tournament.

IUP leads the Dixon Trophy standings with an average of 11.79 points after winning conference titles in football and men's golf. Shippensburg ranks second with an average of 11.26 points, followed closely by Cal U and Edinboro (11.00). Slippery Rock rounds out the top five at 10.71 points, while defending-Dixon Trophy champion Bloomsburg ranks eighth with 8.33 points.

Seven different institutions have won the Dixon Trophy, led by Shippensburg with seven titles. The others are Lock Haven (three), Bloomsburg (three), Cal U (one), Kutztown (one), Millersville (one) and Slippery Rock (one).

The Dixon Trophy has been awarded annually since the 1995-96 academic year by the PSAC to a member institution whose athletic department earns the best overall finish in conference championships and/or regular-season play. During the course of the academic year, points are awarded based on an institution's finish in the 23 conference sports.

Seven PSAC championships will be contested in the 2012-13 winter season: men's and women's basketball, men's and women's swimming, men's and women's indoor track & field and wrestling. The next update of the Dixon Trophy standings will be released following the basketball championships in early March.

Subscribe today! Click here for our subscription offers.


Show commenting policy