ShareThis Page

St. Vincent senior set to be honored

| Tuesday, April 2, 2013, 9:00 p.m.
The Allegheny Badgers recently won the annual Mite Major ADM Laurel Ice Hockey Tournament in Greensburg. The team includes, in front, from left, Alex Donley (Latrobe), Austin Herron (Greensburg), Vinny Amatucci (Latrobe) and Mason Faas (Plum). In middle are Brendan Reetz (Monroeville), Preston Henry (Greensburg), Tristan Lloyd (Jeannette), Michael Varrati (Level Green) and Logan Robb (North Huntington. In back are coaches Erika Lloyd, Bob Donley, Mike Robb, head coach Joe Herron and Ed Faas. Mitchell Shusko (Jeannette) also played for the team.

Devin McGrath, a four-year starter on the St. Vincent College women's basketball team, will be honored as the 2013 YWCA Westmoreland Sportswoman of the Year at a banquet open to the public from 6 to 8:30 p.m. April 11 at the Greensburg Ramada Inn and Conference Center.

The St. Vincent women's tennis team will be recognized with the Committee's Choice Award after securing the first conference championship in program history after an unbeaten 14-0 record in the regular season and a 9-0 mark in the Presidents' Athletic Conference.

The banquet, in its 19th year, has honored more than 1,000 female athletes.

McGrath is a three-time all-PAC selection, including twice as a first-team choice in 2012 and ‘13. As a senior, she led the PAC in rebounding (10.3 rpg.) and was the only women's basketball player in the conference to average a double-double, ranking fourth in the league in scoring (16.1 ppg.).

McGrath finished her college career 10th on St. Vincent's all-time scoring list with 1,387 points.

The women's tennis team, under first-year coach Chris McMahon, shared the PAC Tournament title with Westminster (Pa.) and earned an automatic bid to the NCAA Division III Tournament — their first postseason appearance — because of a regular-season victory over Westminster.

St. Vincent team members included seniors Jessica McKetta, Chantal Mitchell and Stephanie Rubin; junior Amanda Gans; sophomores Kylie Auman and Regina Woloshun; and freshmen Jacquelyn Hauser, Hannah Kahn, Shayla Landman and Amanda Marker.

General admission tickets to the banquet are $32. Student admission is $20. More information can be obtained by calling 724-834-9390.


St. Vincent righthander Gary Gerhardt was named Eastern College Athletic Conference Division III South Pitcher of the Week on March 26 after tossing a complete-game, 1-0 shutout against Westminster (Pa.) on March 23. The honor came just two days after the senior claimed Presidents' Athletic Conference Pitcher of the Week.

TribLIVE commenting policy

You are solely responsible for your comments and by using you agree to our Terms of Service.

We moderate comments. Our goal is to provide substantive commentary for a general readership. By screening submissions, we provide a space where readers can share intelligent and informed commentary that enhances the quality of our news and information.

While most comments will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive, moderating decisions are subjective. We will make them as carefully and consistently as we can. Because of the volume of reader comments, we cannot review individual moderation decisions with readers.

We value thoughtful comments representing a range of views that make their point quickly and politely. We make an effort to protect discussions from repeated comments either by the same reader or different readers

We follow the same standards for taste as the daily newspaper. A few things we won't tolerate: personal attacks, obscenity, vulgarity, profanity (including expletives and letters followed by dashes), commercial promotion, impersonations, incoherence, proselytizing and SHOUTING. Don't include URLs to Web sites.

We do not edit comments. They are either approved or deleted. We reserve the right to edit a comment that is quoted or excerpted in an article. In this case, we may fix spelling and punctuation.

We welcome strong opinions and criticism of our work, but we don't want comments to become bogged down with discussions of our policies and we will moderate accordingly.

We appreciate it when readers and people quoted in articles or blog posts point out errors of fact or emphasis and will investigate all assertions. But these suggestions should be sent via e-mail. To avoid distracting other readers, we won't publish comments that suggest a correction. Instead, corrections will be made in a blog post or in an article.