ShareThis Page

District colleges notebook: WCCC honored with sportsmanship award

| Thursday, July 4, 2013, 8:55 p.m.

Westmoreland County Community College received the 2012-13 Western Pennsylvania Collegiate Conference Sportsmanship of the Year Award, recognizing its teams' ability to show respect toward opponents and spectators.

“Our coaches have laid a solid foundation in teaching our young men and women student-athletes' proper conduct in the sporting arena,” WCCC athletics director Dick Holler said.

“This sportsmanship award shows that our coaches and student-athletes not only respect the game they play, but all of those who give them these opportunities along the way.”

Meanwhile, Holler was honored with the WPCC Athletic Administrator of the Year Award.

Voted on by the conference athletic directors, the award recognizes positive leadership at an institution.

Both awards are the first to be presented by the WPCC, which comprises 10 community colleges in Pennsylvania and West Virginia.

WCCC sponsors varsity competition in baseball, men's and women's basketball, men's and women's bowling, men's and women's cross country, men's and women's golf, men's and women's soccer, softball and women's volleyball.

• A total of 84 Seton Hill athletes have been selected to the 2012-13 West Virginia Intercollegiate Athletic Conference Commissioner's Honor Roll, including Faith Finoli, Tiara Stossel and Justin Weaver — named scholar-athletes of the year at Seton Hill for posting the highest grade-point averages among the school's honorees.


Seton Hill right-hander Mike Bittel was named the New York Collegiate Baseball League Pitcher of the Week after allowing just two runs in two starts, resulting in a victory and a no-decision.

Bittel entered the week with a 2-0 record and a 1.08 ERA in 25 innings for the Syracuse Junior Chiefs.


Four members of the Seton Hill women's team, who achieved a grade-point average of at least 3.5, were named Women's Golf Coaches Association All-American Scholars.

They are Brianna Bush, Chelsea Sipes, Nina Gonzalez and Morgan Miller, who are among 644 recognized nationally.


A total of 20 men's players at Seton Hill have been named to the Eastern College Athletic Conference All-Academic Team for posting grade-point averages of at least 3.0.

Those honored, among 107 nationally, were Kevin Cala, Lee Carrozza, Andrew Chenworth, Jimmy Cogley, Trevor Cyr, James Delaney, Anthony DeSana, Nick Elliott, Dylan Gelven, Cody Golon, Zachery Hartmann, Alex Hill, Chris Ilse, Jon Macurak, Matt Mahood, Charlie Mandarino, James Newman, Anthony Peluso, Dom Puglise, Tim Schreiber and John Wolfram.

Track and field

Seton Hill senior Aron Kurzinski was named to the 2013 Capital One Academic All-America Division II Men's and Track/Cross Country Team as a second-team selection.

Kurzinski, a Hempfield High School graduate, finished sixth in the long jump at the NCAA Division II Indoor Championships, holds Seton Hill records in the indoor 55- and 60-meter dashes and long jump and the outdoor long jump.

To be eligible for the award, student-athletes were required to achieve a grade-point average of at least 3.3.

TribLIVE commenting policy

You are solely responsible for your comments and by using you agree to our Terms of Service.

We moderate comments. Our goal is to provide substantive commentary for a general readership. By screening submissions, we provide a space where readers can share intelligent and informed commentary that enhances the quality of our news and information.

While most comments will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive, moderating decisions are subjective. We will make them as carefully and consistently as we can. Because of the volume of reader comments, we cannot review individual moderation decisions with readers.

We value thoughtful comments representing a range of views that make their point quickly and politely. We make an effort to protect discussions from repeated comments either by the same reader or different readers

We follow the same standards for taste as the daily newspaper. A few things we won't tolerate: personal attacks, obscenity, vulgarity, profanity (including expletives and letters followed by dashes), commercial promotion, impersonations, incoherence, proselytizing and SHOUTING. Don't include URLs to Web sites.

We do not edit comments. They are either approved or deleted. We reserve the right to edit a comment that is quoted or excerpted in an article. In this case, we may fix spelling and punctuation.

We welcome strong opinions and criticism of our work, but we don't want comments to become bogged down with discussions of our policies and we will moderate accordingly.

We appreciate it when readers and people quoted in articles or blog posts point out errors of fact or emphasis and will investigate all assertions. But these suggestions should be sent via e-mail. To avoid distracting other readers, we won't publish comments that suggest a correction. Instead, corrections will be made in a blog post or in an article.