ShareThis Page

College basketball roundup: Miami earns ACC championship

| Sunday, March 17, 2013, 8:45 p.m.
Miami's Shane Larkin shoots over North Carolina's James Michael McAdoo (43) and Marcus Paige during the first half of their ACC championship game Sunday, March 17, 2013, in Greensboro, N.C.
Miami's Shane Larkin shoots over North Carolina's James Michael McAdoo (43) and Marcus Paige during the first half of their ACC championship game Sunday, March 17, 2013, in Greensboro, N.C.

GREENSBORO, N.C. — Jim Larranaga snipped the final strand of net hanging from the rim, then faced his players and cheering fans to twirl it in the air before draping it around his neck.

There's no mistaking Miami for just a football school anymore. Not after Larranaga guided the once-struggling Hurricanes to the top of the ACC with a team that looks like it can make a deep run in the NCAA Tournament.

Shane Larkin scored eight of his career-high 28 points in the final 2½ minutes to help No. 9 Miami pull away and beat North Carolina, 87-77, in Sunday's ACC Tournament final.

Trey McKinney Jones added a career-high 20 points for the top-seeded Hurricanes (27-6), including the go-ahead 3-pointer with 6:27 left that started Miami's final push toward its first tournament title.

It came one week after Miami completed its surprising run to its first ACC regular-season title in program history. Larkin was chosen the tournament's MVP after finishing as runner-up for league player of the year.

“We want more,” senior Julian Gamble said. “After we clinched the outright regular-season title at home and we (cut down the nets), we were like, ‘Wasn't that the funnest thing you've ever done?' ”

Big Ten Tournament

No. 10 Ohio State 50, No. 22 Wisconsin 43 — In Chicago, Ohio State is the champion of the Big Ten Tournament — again.

DeShaun Thomas scored 17 points, and the Buckeyes won their conference-best fifth tournament title.

Wisconsin and Ohio State were close for most of the second half, but the Buckeyes seized on a cold spell by the Badgers to move in front down the stretch.

After Sam Dekker scored on a reverse layup with 7:01 left, Wisconsin went scoreless for the next 4½ minutes.

SEC Tournament

Mississippi 66, No. 13 Florida 63 — In Nashville, Tenn., Murphy Holloway scored 23 points, and Marshall Henderson had 21 as Mississippi gave coach Andy Kennedy his first NCAA Tournament berth.

The Rebels (26-8) have won seven of eight, grabbing their first tournament title since 1981 and their second overall.

Reginald Buckner added 13 points for Ole Miss.

The Gators had a final chance to force overtime. Scottie Wilbekin missed both free throws with 4.2 seconds left, and Kenny Boynton's last-gasp 3 glanced off the rim after he took a step back to make sure he was over the line.

Atlantic 10 Tournament

No. 16 Saint Louis 62, No. 25VCU 56 — In New York, Kwamain Mitchell scored 19 points, including a huge 3-pointer with the shot clock winding down, and tourney MVP Dwayne Evans added 16 to lead Saint Louis to its first Atlantic 10 Tournament title.

The Billikens won only the second conference tournament crown in school history.

Saint Louis had been the best team in the Atlantic 10 all season, led by eight juniors and seniors and interim coach Jim Crews. Coach Rick Majerus died in December after being hospitalized for several months, and fans chanted his name as the players celebrated the title.

District men

IUP 53, Slippery Rock 50 — In West Liberty, W.Va., Marcel Souberbielle notched a double-double, and the Crimson Hawks' defense limited Slippery Rock to 30-percent shooting as third-seeded IUP advanced to the NCAA Division II Sweet 16.

Souberbielle finished with 15 points and a career-high 13 rebounds in 38 minutes.

Anthony Wells added 14 points, including six of IUP's final 10 points, and Scooter Renkin finished 11 points.

The Crimson Hawks will play West Liberty at 7 p.m. Tuesday for the right to go to the Elite Eight.

TribLIVE commenting policy

You are solely responsible for your comments and by using you agree to our Terms of Service.

We moderate comments. Our goal is to provide substantive commentary for a general readership. By screening submissions, we provide a space where readers can share intelligent and informed commentary that enhances the quality of our news and information.

While most comments will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive, moderating decisions are subjective. We will make them as carefully and consistently as we can. Because of the volume of reader comments, we cannot review individual moderation decisions with readers.

We value thoughtful comments representing a range of views that make their point quickly and politely. We make an effort to protect discussions from repeated comments either by the same reader or different readers

We follow the same standards for taste as the daily newspaper. A few things we won't tolerate: personal attacks, obscenity, vulgarity, profanity (including expletives and letters followed by dashes), commercial promotion, impersonations, incoherence, proselytizing and SHOUTING. Don't include URLs to Web sites.

We do not edit comments. They are either approved or deleted. We reserve the right to edit a comment that is quoted or excerpted in an article. In this case, we may fix spelling and punctuation.

We welcome strong opinions and criticism of our work, but we don't want comments to become bogged down with discussions of our policies and we will moderate accordingly.

We appreciate it when readers and people quoted in articles or blog posts point out errors of fact or emphasis and will investigate all assertions. But these suggestions should be sent via e-mail. To avoid distracting other readers, we won't publish comments that suggest a correction. Instead, corrections will be made in a blog post or in an article.