Share This Page

Johnson's 3-point shooting boosts Pitt past Lehigh, 77-58

| Wednesday, Nov. 20, 2013, 9:27 p.m.
Chaz Palla | Tribune-Review
Pitt's Durand Johnson shoots a 3-pointer in the first half against Lehigh on Wednesday, Nov. 20, 2013, at Petersen Events Center.
Chaz Palla | Tribune-Review
Pitt's Talib Zanna grabs a first-half rebound away from Lehigh's Justin Goldsburough on Wednesday, Nov. 20, 2013, at Petersen Events Center.
Chaz Palla | Tribune-Review
Pitt's Durand Johnson grabs a first-half rebound over Lehigh's Austin Price on Wednesday, Nov. 20, 2013, at Petersen Events Center.
Chaz Palla | Tribune-Review
Pitt's Derrick Randall pins a shot by Lehigh's Austin Price against the glass during the second half Wednesday, Nov. 20, 2013, at Petersen Events Center.
Chaz Palla | Tribune-Review
Pitt's Lamar Patterson grabs a loose ball from Lehigh's Mackey McKnight in the first half Wednesday, Nov. 20, 2013, at Petersen Events Center.
Chaz Palla | Tribune-Review
Pitt's Derrick Randall scores past Lehigh's Mackey McKnight in the second half Wednesday, Nov. 20, 2013, at Petersen Events Center.
Chaz Palla | Tribune-Review
Pitt's Talib Zanna pulls a second-half rebound away from Lehigh's Tim Kempton on Wednesday, Nov. 20, 2013, at Petersen Events Center.
Chaz Palla | Tribune-Review
Pitt's Talib Zanna dunks against Lehigh in the second half Wednesday, Nov. 20, 2013, at Petersen Events Center.
Chaz Palla | Tribune-Review
Pitt's Talib Zanna pulls a second-half rebound away from Lehigh's Conroy Baltimore on Wednesday, Nov. 20, 2013, at Petersen Events Center.
Chaz Palla | Tribune-Review
Pitt's Talib Zanna scores past Lehigh's Tim Kempton in the second half Wednesday, Nov. 20, 2013, at Petersen Events Center.
Chaz Palla | Tribune-Review
Pitt's Josh Newkirk delivers a second-half pass to Derrick Randall against the defense of Lehigh's Conroy Baltimore on Wednesday, Nov. 20, 2013, at Petersen Events Center.
Chaz Palla | Tribune-Review
Pitt's Derrick Randall scores over Lehigh defenders in the second half Wednesday, Nov. 20, 2013, at Petersen Events Center.
Chaz Palla | Tribune-Review
Pitt's Cameron Wright drives past Lehigh's Devon Carter in the first half Wednesday, Nov. 20, 2013, at Petersen Events Center.
Chaz Palla | Tribune-Review
Pitt's Lamar Patterson makes a first-half 3-pointer over Lehigh's Miles Simelton on Wednesday, Nov. 20, 2013, at Petersen Events Center.

Durand Johnson told James Robinson before Pitt played Lehigh that he was going to be on from 3-point range.

Then, only one game after going 0 for 4 from beyond the arc, Johnson delivered.

Johnson made five 3-pointers in the first half, one shy of the school record, to lift the Panthers to a 77-58 victory Wednesday in the Progressive Legends Classic at Petersen Events Center.

“He hit that first 3, and I knew he was going to be hot for the rest of the night,” Robinson said. “So I kept giving him the ball, and he kept coming through.”

Not that it was the first time Johnson vowed to have a hot hand.

“He's a scorer, so he does,” Robinson said. “I believe him every time. He really showed he could score.”

Johnson, a 6-foot-6 redshirt sophomore from Baltimore, came off the bench to give the Panthers a boost after Lehigh had cut it to 12-8. He hit three 3s in a two-minute span and 5 of 6 in the half. The school record for 3-pointers in a half is six, held by Jason Maile (against Villanova in 1997) and Jason Matthews (against Providence in '90).

“I wanted to come out with more confidence and be shot-ready,” Johnson said. “My teammates found me, and I was able to knock down shots.”

Pitt (4-0) took advantage of Johnson's shooting by outscoring Lehigh, 32-15, the rest of the half.

The Panthers shot 46.8 percent (29 of 62) from the field, including 11 of 26 from 3-point range and beat Lehigh (1-4) on the boards 44-23.

Talib Zanna made all of his seven shots from the field and scored a career-high 23 points with 14 rebounds. Lamar Patterson added 17 points, and Johnson finished with 15.

Robinson had a career-high 11 assists with no turnovers, two shy of the school's record for assist-to-turnover ratio.

“We're up big numbers, and the guy's still not looking for his, which is pretty typical of Pitt basketball,” Panthers coach Jamie Dixon said.

Lehigh was led by 6-10 freshman center Tim Kempton, who scored 20 points. The Panthers held Mountain Hawks leading scorer Mackey McKnight to eight points, 11 below his team-leading average.

It was Pitt's second game in the Legends Classic. The Panthers beat Howard, 84-52, on Sunday. They play Texas Tech on Monday and the Houston-Stanford winner Tuesday at Barclays Center in Brooklyn.

“I thought Johnson did an excellent job,” Lehigh coach Brett Reed said. “We knew coming into the game that he had excellent shooting potential from the perimeter. We were in a difficult position where we also knew that we had to protect our paint and protect our interior and almost pick our poison. However, Johnson was the one guy we didn't want to let go on the perimeter. He stepped up, was able to convert and make those open shots.

“Unfortunately we didn't adjust in time to really neutralize him.”

Kevin Gorman is a staff writer for Trib Total Media. Reach him at kgorman@tribweb.com or via Twitter @KGorman_Trib.

TribLIVE commenting policy

You are solely responsible for your comments and by using TribLive.com you agree to our Terms of Service.

We moderate comments. Our goal is to provide substantive commentary for a general readership. By screening submissions, we provide a space where readers can share intelligent and informed commentary that enhances the quality of our news and information.

While most comments will be posted if they are on-topic and not abusive, moderating decisions are subjective. We will make them as carefully and consistently as we can. Because of the volume of reader comments, we cannot review individual moderation decisions with readers.

We value thoughtful comments representing a range of views that make their point quickly and politely. We make an effort to protect discussions from repeated comments either by the same reader or different readers

We follow the same standards for taste as the daily newspaper. A few things we won't tolerate: personal attacks, obscenity, vulgarity, profanity (including expletives and letters followed by dashes), commercial promotion, impersonations, incoherence, proselytizing and SHOUTING. Don't include URLs to Web sites.

We do not edit comments. They are either approved or deleted. We reserve the right to edit a comment that is quoted or excerpted in an article. In this case, we may fix spelling and punctuation.

We welcome strong opinions and criticism of our work, but we don't want comments to become bogged down with discussions of our policies and we will moderate accordingly.

We appreciate it when readers and people quoted in articles or blog posts point out errors of fact or emphasis and will investigate all assertions. But these suggestions should be sent via e-mail. To avoid distracting other readers, we won't publish comments that suggest a correction. Instead, corrections will be made in a blog post or in an article.