| Sports

Larger text Larger text Smaller text Smaller text | Order Photo Reprints

Greensburg Tribune-Review roundup: Indiana keeps Section 3 lead

Brian F. Henry | Tribune-Review
Indiana's Ryan Creps safely slides into second base past Greensburg Salem's Sam Nowicki on Monday, April 22, 2013 at Greensburg Salem.

About The Tribune-Review
The Tribune-Review can be reached via e-mail or at 412-321-6460.
Contact Us | Video | Photo Reprints
Top high school sports

By Staff Reports

Published: Monday, April 22, 2013, 10:00 p.m.

Sean Thompson struck out nine and allowed four hits, and Indiana padded its lead in Section 3-AAA with a 5-1 win over Greensburg Salem on Monday afternoon.

Bo Putt went 3 for 4 with a pair of doubles, and Danny Clark was 3 for 4 with a double for Indiana (8-2, 6-1). Adam Cunningham had two hits for Greensburg Salem (3-6, 3-4).

Latrobe 6, Connellsville 5 — Matt Hogue was the winning pitcher in Latrobe's Section 2-AAAA game. Nick Robi had a double and Alec Spanulange had a triple for Latrobe (5-5, 4-3).

Yough 7, Uniontown 3 — Josh Sterner had a double and two RBI and Luke Spisak picked up the win for Yough (6-6, 5-2) in a Section 2-AAA win.

Derry 10, Laurel Highlands 8 In Section 2-AAA, Robby Hebenthal and Lucas Maloy each had multiple hits to lead Derry (5-5, 5-2) to victory.

Jeannette 10, So uthmoreland 3 — Garett Elliot had a pair of doubles and was the winning pitcher for the Jayhawks (5-3, 4-3) in their Section 4-AA win.

Greensburg C.C. 13, South Allegheny 3 — Colin Liberatore picked up the win for the Centurions (5-3, 5-2) in Section 4-AA. Sean Bialecki went 3 for 3 with a double and a triple for Greensburg Central Catholic.

Clairton 9, Frazier 4 — Zach Lorea threw a complete game with 11 strikeouts, as Clairton (3-5, 2-3) won in Section 2-A. Blake Herron had three hits for Frazier (4-6, 2-3).

Franklin Regional 20, Woodland Hills 5 — Nick Munson went 1 for 2 with four RBI for Franklin Regional (8-3) in a three-inning, nonsection rout.

Albert Gallatin 7, Ringgold 6 — Jarred Cappellini hit a two-run double in the bottom of the seventh to tie the game and later scored on Chaz Phillips' RBI single to give Albert Gallatin (1-9) a win. Ringgold's Tyler Zubovich hit a grand slam in the second.

Mt. Pleasant 10, Highlands 0 (6 inn.) — Mitch Matlas tripled, and Luke Liprando doubled as the Vikings (5-7) posted a nonsection, six-inning win. Nate Pieszak pitched a three-hitter and struck out six.


Hempfield 9, Franklin Regi onal 1 — Kasey Kolick and Michaela LaDonne each had a double for No. 4 Hempfield (10-3, 6-2) in its Section 1-AAAA win. Hope Pehrson got the win.

Norwin 3, Latrobe 2 — Maddy Miller pitched a complete game and struck out five to lead Norwin in Section 1-AAAA. Jenna Adams had three doubles for the Knights (6-4, 5-4).

Mt. Pleasant 12, Laurel Highlands 2 (6 inn.) — Paige Hertzog and Jena Szelong each had multiple hits, as Mt. Pleasant (9-4, 8-2) cruised in Section 4-AAA.

Greensburg Salem 3, Yough 0 — Jayne Oberdorf struck out nine — eclipsing 100 strikeouts on the year — and Class AAA No. 1 Greensburg Salem won the nonsection game. Claire Oberdorf homered for Greensburg Salem (10-1).

Greensburg C.C. 10, Frazier 7 — Nikki Adisey was the winning pitcher in Greensburg Central Catholic's nonsection win. Sierra Mathos had a pair of doubles and Emma Taormira, Liana Denino and Marina Kosor all had one extra-base hit for Greensburg Central Catholic (7-3).

Elizabeth Forward 4, McKe esport 2 — Katelyn Shinavski and Caitlyn Arico each had doubles for the Warriors in their nonsection win. Grace McBride got the win for Elizabeth Forward (10-2).

Blairsville 1, Ligonier Valley 0 — In the Heritage Conference, Emily Okapal threw a complete-game, allowing just two hits with 12 strikeouts, to lead Blairsville (6-0, 6-0) to victory. It was the first conference loss in six years for Ligonier Valley.


Latrobe's Chad Kissell and Mario Fannie defeated Penn-Trafford's Cullen Price and Alec Giugliano, 7-5, 6-2, in the finals of the Section 1-AAA doubles tournament at Franklin Regional to claim the section championship. Price and Giugliano topped Kiski Area's team of Tyler Paunovich and Thad Paunovich, 4-6, 6-2, 6-3, to reach the finals. In the consolation finals, the Paunovich brothers beat Franklin Regional's team of Rohan Hattangady and Rochan Ramesh, 7-5, 6-3.



Show commenting policy

Most-Read Baseball

  1. Offseason work helps Vincentian pitchers go distance this season
  2. No answers for Hixenbaugh, Leps
Subscribe today! Click here for our subscription offers.