| Sports

Larger text Larger text Smaller text Smaller text | Order Photo Reprints

Local players earn Section 2-AAA honors

TribLIVE Sports Videos

Top high school sports
By Staff Reports
Friday, May 31, 2013, 10:45 p.m.

Baseball players from Mt. Pleasant, Laurel Highlands and Uniontown received all-section honors in Section 2-AAA for their play this past season.

Juniors Tyler Mellors and Luke Liprando of Mt. Pleasant were named first-team infielders, as was junior Nick Lancaster of Laurel Highlands.

First-team outfielders include juniors Joey Paul and Mitch Matlas of Mt. Pleasant and junior Drew DeBerry of Laurel Highlands.

Junior Colin McKee of Laurel Highlands is a first-team pitcher and junior Zack Stashick of Uniontown is a first-team catcher.

Honorable mentions went to Mt. Pleasant juniors Marcus Malara (catcher) and Ryan Hudec (designated hitter) and sophomore Nate Pieszak (pitcher) as well as Uniontown senior Cody Karpiak (infielder) and junior Luke Wallace (pitcher).

Indiana junior pitcher Sean Thompson was named the section's MVP.

Subscribe today! Click here for our subscription offers.



Show commenting policy

Most-Read Baseball

  1. Daily News roundup: Cartia leads Elizabeth Forward past Thomas Jefferson
  2. High school roundup: Zola’s no-hitter leads Seton-La Salle to win
  3. Southmoreland scores early, often, routs Monessen 10-1
  4. Mt. Pleasant baseball team hopes to win with pitching
  5. High school roundup: Homers highlight Canon-McMillan’s win over Bethel Park
  6. Greensburg high school roundup: Greensburg Salem edges Mt. Pleasant
  7. Young Derry baseball team developing under 4th-year head coach
  8. Connellsville baseball wins W.Pa. opener after Southern trip
  9. After rough 2014, Clairton baseball team hoping for better season
  10. Cal Area overwhelms Charleroi
  11. Fox Chapel baseball hopes move to Section 3 sparks improvement