'Hoops for a Cure' rosters announced

Nathan Smith
| Wednesday, April 16, 2014, 9:00 p.m.

The 19th annual “Hoops for a Cure” is a who's who of WPIAL basketball.

The event will start at 3 p.m. on April 26 at Chartiers Valley with a game between the Class A and AA girls. The boys Class A and AA game will tip at 4:30 and will be followed at 6 p.m. with a showdown between the AAA and AAAA girls. The nightcap will be a contest between the AAA and AAAA boys.

The yearly event is held to benefit the Nathan S. Arenson Fund for Pancreatic Cancer Research. The fund has raised more than $1.2 million to date.

Admission is $5 for adults and $3 for children over 3. Children under 3 will be admitted free of charge. Raffles tickets are being sold with a grand prize of two tickets to the quarterfinals of the US Open Tennis Championships in New York.

Other prizes include tickets to other sporting events and autographed sports memorabilia.

Door prizes will be rewarded to patrons who have a winning admission ticket.

Visit www.hoopsforacure.com for more information.

The follow are the rosters for the all-star teams.


Class A

Elijah Minnie, Lincoln Park

Ryan Skovranko, Lincoln Park

Justice Rawlins, Monessen

Domonic Robb, North Catholic

Kendall Paige, OLSH

Cameron Johnson, OLSH

Keenan Hockton, Sewickley Academy

Luk Vith, Sewickley Academy

Kevin Fischer, Vincentian Academy

Nick Miller, Western Beaver

Class AA

Eric Gallupe, Avonworth

Dan Stratton, Beaver Falls

Kodie Hanley, Chartiers-Houston

Miles Williamson, Chartiers-Houston

Bill Hipp, Greensburg CC

Brian Graytok, Greensburg CC

Miles Sunder, Jeanette

Dale Clancy, Seton-La Salle

Levi Masua, Seton-La Salle

Malik White, Seton-La Salle

Dupree Jenkins, Washington

Class AAA

Matt Kline, Central Valley

Tony Gates, Central Valley

Jerrad Tuite, Chartiers Valley

Jaquan Davidson, Elizabeth Forward

Owen Nearhoff, Mars

Dustin Sleva, Montour

Alan Smith, Steel Valley

Charles Scharbo, Thomas Jefferson

Zack Talley, Thomas Jefferson

Jordan Pratt, Uniontown

Class AAAA

Josh Krafeynski, Bethel Park

Matt Renzi, Franklin Regional

Colin Luther, Hampton

Ryan Luther, Hampton

Anthony Richardson, New Castle

Drew Allen, New Castle

Malik Hooker, New Castle

D.J. Porter, Obama

Patrick Sprouls, Pittsburgh CC

Jordan Conn, Upper St. Clair


Class A

Kenna Drazich, Avella

Nikki Arbanas, Hickory

Holly Grober, Hickory

Lexi Arkwright, Mercer

Kristen Jackson, Quigley Catholic

Nicole Pero, Serra Catholic

Megan Sieg, Serra Catholic

Mallorie Heinle, St. Joseph

Allie Bartosewizy, Vincentian Academy

Madison Raber, West Greene

Class AA/City League

Sierra Fordham, Allderdice

Mackenzie Mayernik, Avonworth

Johnie Olkosky, Bishop Canevin

Laura McGowan, Brentwood

Mia Woytovich, Charleroi

Addy Knetzer, Chartiers-Houston

Rachel Bellhy, Fort Cherry

Jenna Lucas, Fort Cherry

Joanne Barlamas, Freedom

Monique Redman, Jeannette

Naje Gibson, Seton-La Salle

Yacine Diop, Seton-La Salle

Class AAA

Kiana Law, Central Valley

Seairra Barrett, Central Valley

Natalie Fekula, Elizabeth Forward

Angelina Starr, Franklin

Karly Mellinger, Greensburg Salem

Shaniya Rivers, Hopewell

Kari Steuter, Hopewell

Maryssa Agurs, Keystone Oaks

Emily Knepshield, Kittaning

Amirah Moore, Moon

Halie Torris, South Park

Alexis Yanief, Thomas Jefferson

Ciara Patterson, West Mifflin

Taylor Thomas, West Mifflin

Class AAAA

Megan Marecic, Bethel Park

Harper Zimmer, Bethel Park

Olivia Lorusso, Canon-McMillan

Jenna Devinney, Chartiers Valley

Kristen McGeough, Chartiers Valley

Lauren Herron, Chartiers Valley

Erin Mathis, Fox Chapel

Jada Epps, Gateway

Monica Burns, Hempfield

Christine Ehland, Mt. Lebanon

Margie McCaffery, Mt. Lebanon

Abbie Trzeciak, Seneca Valley

Carly Harris, Shaler

Krista Pietropola, Plum

Nathan Smith is a staff writer for Trib Total Media. He can be reached at nsmith@tribweb.com or via Twitter @NSmith_Trib.

Subscribe today! Click here for our subscription offers.



Show commenting policy